Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:03 a.m. - 2007-09-28
Wishing I could dance
Friday. No Dance. I have to work all weekend, so maybe I'll have a little Sunday afternoon dance. Anyway, the awards presentation went well last night. The Sr. VP decided to speak so I didn't have to. I was impressed by the people receiving awards - there were several families who do "shared" living with adults who are mentally challenged. There was a woman who has been with the same four women for more than 20 years caring for them. The women are now in their 70s and 80s. The fifth woman of the group died at 102 in the group home. There are many wonderful people out there. I looked at them as they went up for their awards. Did I see them in the grocery store and think under my brain, that they had smaller lives than mine? Did I not let them get ahead of me in line because I thought I didn't need to give them a break? I must remind myself that I don't know everything even though I think I do.

So what's up for today? 50th anniversary luncheon, decades class dinner, alumni awards (tonight.)

I may be able to sneak away and have dinner with spouse, Andy and neighborfriend. Spouse made a pizza dough last night while I was working, but we'll save it for calzone on Sunday.

Oh - yesterday, Andy forgot his sax and spouse said he was on his way home, but didn't leave for another two hours. I had come home to surprise spouse but he wasn't there, so I went back to work. He and Andy came and visited me at the office with a bouquet of yellow flowers and an iced coffee, and a sign that said "We're sorry!" It was nice to see them. Penitent.

And Andy composed a jazz song on his sax last night called "striding in moonlight" and called just about every relative to play it over the phone. I still haven't heard it. But I love the name! (yes, I'm in the land of sentence fragments today.)

So there you have it - tomorrow is more homecoming stuff - Honor society induction, brunch, THE BIG GAME, a talent show and finally the dance at the end of the night. I also have a dinner party/grown-ups night, but it shouldn't be a big deal because I already made the lasagna and someone is bringing a salad and dessert.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!