Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:47 p.m. - 2007-09-10
How I spent the weekend
I need a few days to recover from the weekend! Friday afternoon, we picked up our friends' daughter who spent the night at our house. First we made pizza, then we watched Fantasia, then we all were exhausted, so we went to sleep around 10. The kids were up around 6:30, so we got up, watched some cartoons and went out for breakfast. Yum - grits, eggs, sausage, biscuits. My favorite - with blackberry jam and sweet tea! We dropped the daughter off, then headed to scout camp for 11 hours of cub scout fun in 97 degree heat and humidity. It was fun though, and Andy and the rest of the scouts had a great time. We did foil cooking, hiking, clean up, nature stuff, splash balls, rubberband rifles and see how many kids can fit onto the giant life-guard chair.

We opted not to sleep over. Came home, showered off the dust and bug spray and fell asleep before 10. Then it was up and off to the in-laws Sunday. They were in a fairly good mood. We took them to lunch, ran some errands for them, and came home to do our own weekend duties: laundry, bills, groceries, etc. I went through three bags of papers (mostly mail and catalogues.) Then we got ready for cub scouts, which starts tonight. We also got another three cubs from another pack who want to join our den, which would bring us to thirteen. I'm a bit worried...We'll see what happens tonight.

Tomorrow we're having our neighbors over for dinner. My mother made a big pan of turkey divan (turkey, cheese, broccoli) and they've been so good to Andy, and they love turkey. So there's that.

I wish I had more excitement to tell about. I want Andy to make a list of all the cool things he did this summer.

Since I don't have a very long commute, I don't get the usual array of peculiar objects on the roadside, so I decided to start noticing the people who seem to be regular: There are two mommies who always wear pink and who take their kids to one of the three elementary schools I pass on the way to work. There is a somewhat rotund Dad who walks his very cute toddler in a stroller each morning; and there is a very funny crossing guard who wears a different hat or crazy sunglasses every day. Today it was a propeller beanie. Makes me smile.

I'll still keep on the lookout for objects, but I don't know...

And for now - that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!