Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:41 a.m. - 2007-07-04
I thought it was Saturday!
Happy Fourth of July - Happy Independence day! Last night Andy, spouse a pile o'neighbors and I had dinner and then went to the town's fireworks. It was lovely, so nice to be with friends, so nice to be in a community.

My parents met 53 years ago today. My father still remembers.

Got the last of my crown done yesterday. I thought we would be sent home early as we always are before a holiday, but no such luck, so I had to ask my boss if I could keep the dentist appointment I made and finish the day at home rather than coming the 35 miles back to the office. She told me I had been working at home too much (three times since January, for the same kind of reason) and that I had been taking too much time off for doctors appointments (we have earned leave, so I own that time whether I take it for sick time or vacation time or WHATEVER.) I am so angry, but it only makes my decision to move on all the easier. I had been fence sitting a bit, since I had been getting lots of contracts for them, and loving being with the kids, but after bringing in nearly a million in new money for them, all my boss can focus on is whether or not I work from home for two hours. Such a little, little perspective.

But I digress.

Heard from the college that they've not yet checked resumes, but are getting on that, and I reminded them that I leave for a week for Alaska.

Today our Indian friends are coming for lunch. I'm making a cold-cut and cheese platter (capicola, prosciutto, asiago cheese and salame along with olives.) Also a grilled eggplant and onion salad, home-made olive bread, chicken meatballs (they don't eat red meat) cold broccoli lemon salad, shrimp and white bean salad and for desert, strawberries with balsamic vinegar and peach compote with home-made pound cake.

Hope they like it! They really like Italian food, so I'm hopeful they will enjoy this.

And for now, that's all I got. Except for being pissed at my boss. I got that too.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!