Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:26 a.m. - 2007-07-02
red, white and blue
Beeeyootiful weekend. Friday afternoon we got a pile of stuff done, people dropped off the smaller animals (fish, crab) that we are watching, and other people dropped off keys for the larger ones we're watching (cats mostly, and fish in aquariums.)

Andy gave another brief concert, but is getting more self conscious now about squeaks and missed notes. Saturday we did lots of laundry and some cleaning (and bill paying!) Spouse took Andy to Karate, and I went to a wake with a friend. (A cub scout leader's mother's funeral.)

Saturday afternoon we did D&O with the in-laws, but surprisingly FIL picked up the check. I had six cherrystone clams (this is the only restaurant on the planet that I would ever eat raw clams at); I also had a bowl of Portuguese fisherman's stew (chorico, clams, mussels, a bit of fish in a tomato broth with veggies) very delicious. Andy had baked salmon but thought it wasn't as good as mine. Spouse had soft-shelled crabs. After dinner we did some chores for them, then got home around 9:30 ish.

Sunday morning, Andy and I went to 7 a.m. Mass, did a quick grocery shop and got ready for the town's parade. Andy marched with the cub scouts. I didn't march this time. Just didn't feel like it. We dropped off a car before they closed the roads and put our chairs out in front of the library along with several thousand other people.

Picked up a neighbor who was doing the same thing, then stopped for sandwiches and came home for lunch. Andy got ready, we dropped him off and walked back to our spot. There were at least 30 fire trucks from 20 different towns; 12 bands and drum corps; 5 clown troupes; five floats; lots of community groups and military color guards. The weather was perfect, and we had a really nice, shady spot. Came home and were invited to our neighbor's family's post wedding celebration/cookout, then finished up the laundry and made stuff for tonight's dinner (shrimp and white bean salad and potato salad). We're having company tonight, and I like not to have to rush around as soon as I get home from work.

We're starting to pack for Alaska. I hope the new suitcases arrive soon. They are bright orange, so we should be able to find them quickly!!

And for now that's all I got. Happy Monday!

And tomorrow's my 1,000th entry. Whoda thunk?

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!