Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:30 a.m. - 2007-05-29
You hit the snooze alarm HOW many times?
I suppose I should be worried that I'm hitting a slump only 15 minutes into work. We had company this weekend, so there was lots of cooking and laundry. And I am tired.

Andy did most spectacularly yesterday. I think the local cable access channel recorded the ceremonies, so I'm hoping to be able to record it off of the teevee. Spouse was in charge of either getting a video camera from his work (we can sign it out for free) or making sure that Andy's cheapo video camera was in working order. He forgot both.

He's been pretty good of late - not too much of the passive agressive crap. We had a come to Jesus talk Thursday night about something else, and he really worked hard with all the company, so I don't mean to complain even though I do complain.

My mother says she was having a bad weekend. She doesn't like her new antidepressant. They were going to see my brother and stay overnight so they could pick up the tile for their construction project. My brother's girlfriend called me Friday night asking me to talk her off the ledge because my parents had arrived and were opening cupboards and looking for stuff to eat and making coffee, but trying not to be any trouble. This is after you ask them if they want something, if you should make sure you have something in the hosue for them, and they say no. They do this to me all the time. "Oh no, we really don't snack."

I love when my parents come to visit, but they are horrible house guests - very messy, and very hungry.

My brother's girlfriend said she had to go out and get food for dinner because my brother wanted her to go to the cheaper grocery store, and I told her to tell him to get the stuff himself. They're HIS parents. She was worried they wouldn't feel welcome if she didn't fuss, because my brother doesn't do much in the way of hosting. I told her they had survived all the times she hadn't been there, and that seemed to help her. I appreciate that she wants to be a good host.

Oh yah, on Friday, I got to meet with my third-grade pen pal. He really is a good writer - great vocabulary, great imagination. It was a pleasure to spend that hour with him, though the din in the classroom was awful. I didn't realize it until we were done and walked out of the building.

Sunday we placed flags on the graves of our town's veterans. About 20 cub scouts showed up. I remember that it was Andy's first official cub scout activity. Our company arrived Sunday night and I made a great dinner if I say so myself; then Monday was the land of the parade and the cookout. In addition to our company, we had some neighbors over for dinner- hamburgers, chicken, tube steaks, potato salad, corn/tomato/basil salad, mango salsa, green salad and strawberry shortcake and fudge for dessert. Very delicious. The neighbors brought the potato salad, green salad and fudge.

And today is getting back into the routine. Spouse is at Andy's school helping with their big tie die project. Should be interesting to see who comes home a different color.

And tonight, I am going to bed at 7:30. Really.

That's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!