Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:37 a.m. - 2007-05-15
You should listen to Pink Martini
Somehow all of my energy escaped last night, and after dinner I pretty much crashed. The crock pot paella experiment II - brown rice - was good, not as mushy as the first batch, but still mushy nonetheless. We'll just have to make it when we're actually home to turn off the crockpot earlier.

I'm simmering over a thing with my mother, but trying to move past it.

Spouse picked up a new blazer for Andy. We'll need it for the more formal nights on the Alaska cruise. So now we just need to get him some dress shoes, a tie and a belt. And maybe a shirt.

This is my last full month as room parent, though I haven't really been called upon to do much. Our town is in dire financial straits and will have to lay off about a hundred teachers and curtail library hours if we don't pass an override next week. What I find ironic is that we just paid big bucks to build a new senior center because the existing senior center was a little small. However, it is the seniors who will vote no on the override, and I am concerned about the quality of education in our public schools if that happens. Music will be cut. Art will be cut. Languages will be cut and classes will increase by about 6 or 7 students to close to 30. Yes, I remember that there were 30 or 31 kids in most of our classes, but we also had homogenous classrooms, and children who had special needs were not integrated into them. I'm not saying one way or the other is better, I'm just saying that that is the way it is now, and I don't think that in this case more is better. Even with the override, the town will be cutting about 30 teaching positions. I'm anxious to see how this turns out.

And that's really all I got. Tonight's dinner: chicken tikka masala (a simmer sauce I bought at Trader Joes) and my new favorite Indian spinach with Naan. Also the semi finals of dancing with the stars.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!