Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:53 a.m. - 2007-05-14
Motherly weekend
It was a really nice weekend, except for one thing. We found out that my SILs brother's youngest son has been quite ill and in the hospital. We saw him last at Easter - he is a sweet boy, about 2 and a half, always smiling, always joyful, and when we saw him, he had a fever, but we chalked it up to cold, teething, toddler gunk. Turns out he's had that fever for over a month, and after several blood tests, it showed that he had no iron in his blood. They were told it could be Leukemia, but they weren't certain. He's been in the hospital for over a week, and they still don't know what it is - maybe an auto immune disease, maybe Rheumatoid Arthritis, hopefully not Leukemia. I am so upset about this, so if you offer any prayers or positive thoughts, please do so for this boy.

We saw my niece's dance recital - it was very satisfying - just the right mix of talent, gaudy costumes and cute toddler ballerinas.

Sunday we had brunch at a friend's house. I made a chicken club brunch thing (made it last weekend too for the in-laws) and a tomato basil salad. She made an egg dish and my favorite ice box eclair cake. We had a nice visit. Spouse delivered on his back yard spruce up - even with big pots of pinks around the patio. The door is being installed next week which means no more getting stuck in or out of the bedroom because the door is jammed.

Andy made me a fabulous card with a pot of flowers. Each flower has a chore that he will do for me; and he also made a poem about me in school. Spouse got some very pretty glass earrings (think lasagna made out of glass) for me.

Checked in with all my female relatives and had a nice day of mother-ness.

Didn't do too much cooking this weekend - Friday I used the leftover carnitas meat and we made tacos with fresh corn tortillas, fresh salsa, lime and the pork. Very tasty. Saturday I made a big breakfast because I had eggs and bacon, so that was tasty. Saturday night we didn't really eat because of the dance recital. Sunday, spouse cooked - I helped him make lamb chops, baked potatoes and asparagas.

Tonight we're having another experiment - crockpot paella with brown rice. The last crockpot paella I made was delicious, but the rice was really mushy. This time I'm making it with brown rice which is generally firmer. We'll see.

Tomorrow is Indian chicken and my favorite crockpot Indian spinach.

Wednesday is salmon in parchment.

Thursday is spouse's day to cook.

Busy work week - fortunately no out of office conferences, but many, many proposals. AAAAUGH!

Andy is happy because he can wear shorts most of the week.

And that's all I got.

Except to thank Plain Jane who reminded me that I have no guestbook, but you can leave a note if you click on my "Profile" at the bottom of the page, and there is an area where you can leave me a note.

I'm working on being less of an on-line luddite. Really.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!