Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:54 a.m. - 2007-04-13
What is real?
Happy, Happy Friday Dance.

I am alone in my house right now, enjoying the hum of the heater fan, the occasional shuffle and squeak of the guinea pig and the "T0day Sh0w" in the background.

Today will be about laundry, groceries, picking up and having Andy and his friend over this afternoon after their sports.

Haven't figured dinner out yet. Maybe take out pizza, maybe out, maybe I'll be inspired to make a pizza dough and we'll get back to our routine.

We had cub scouts and the pinewood derby. Andy won for his level (Webelos) and was second overall. Our neighbor won first for his level and first overall. We are delighted!

My poor neighborfriend is getting ready to go on vacation and her mother is acting up and her son just injured his back - they are on their way to d1sney, so I hope things resolve before they leave tomorrow.

Tomorrow we see the inlaws. Sunday, Andy is being taken to see blu3 man gr0up in b0ston for his birthday. I am excited for him to go, but worried about the drive into the city.

I was thinking today as I watched an interview with V@nessa R3dgrave and J0an D1dion that discussed D1dion's book "The Year of Magical Thinking," that I used to see these references about women helping each other through difficult times - women who were close, women who didn't necessarily know each other, but bonded with one who was going through a difficult time like the loss of a spouse or the death of a loved one or whatever. And we don't see that anymore.

Groups of women are more likely portrayed as viscious and catty. I'm not sure if this is a step forward or a step back. Not that it is a stepforward to be vicious, just that we don't have to be portrayed as saints, we just have to be pportrayed authentically. But that's as far as my brain takes me today.

We're prepping for a big storm this weekend, it will likely be rain/snow mix, but it will most probably involve a pork roast.

And that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!