Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:12 a.m. - 2007-02-05
Cooking
Just one more day off - I could do better if I had one more day off. We had a decent and busy weekend. Friday afternoon, Andy's friend came over after school. I kept waiting for Andy to collapse with exhaustion - everyone said he would after this illness. Except. As soon as he got home, he and his friend decided they wanted to go out and play, so they played football for nearly two hours until I called them in because it was getting too dark to see.

My sister also called Friday - we had trouble getting through to her after the bad storms in Florida. She is fine, but one of her offices was demolished. She didn't seemed too concerned though.

My parents are back from their cruise and will stay with my brother and his girlfriend for one day before heading home.

Did I already say Andy (thank you God) is doing okay on the new antibiotic? (Cephtin.) Did I already say that you all sould be germ-free just reading this based on the strength of the drug they gave him?

We watch him carefully for the hour after he takes his medicine - a pill now, not a liquid.

Next week, when Andy is through the medication, we're going to have a meeting with his regular pediatrician and find out what the hell is happening. And I wanted him to be seen by an allergist to find out which antibiotic is causing the reactions.

Friday night we ate at one of our favorite local restaurants so that Andy could have his favorite meal - baked rigatoni with cheese and home-made sausage. He doesn't order off the children's menu here anymore. Then we came home and watched some junky television.

Saturday we headed out to the in-laws and took them to lunch. I returned a blouse I got for Christmas and got a gift-card for future use, came home, did a small grocery run, went to church, then back out again to friends for dinner at their house. This friend is a boy I knew in high school who is now the founder and conductor of a local orchestra. We've been to many concerts, and it has been nice to reconnect, even though we weren't especially friendly in high-school. I love his wife, she's funny and adventuresome, and their boys are very kind to Andy when they're with him. Anyway, we had a great night and didn't get home until nearly midnight.

Sunday I decided to cook big, so I invited Andy's friend's mother over for dinner when the boy came over to play with Andy. I made a pork roast with garlic, lemon, rosemary and pepper; oven roasted potatoes, swiss chard, salad and roasted peppers from the leftover pepper tops I had after I also made stuffed peppers (ground beef, brown rice, tomatoes, cilantro and adobo seaasoning) for tonight's dinner. It was a tasty dinner. I also took all of the marginal fruit and made a compote to go with the gingerbread I baked for dessert. The house smelled great.

We also cleaned out the piggy cage (after getting a bunch more supplies - whew!) and he is doing fine. Andy seems reluctant to hold him - I don't know if he is afraid of the guinea pig or if he is worried about giving the piggie his germs.

Today's roadside observance: 25 rolls of toilet paper - someone must have lost one of those industrial packages of TP because it was all along the ramp to the interstate.

This week: Catsitting for a neighbor, cub scouts, maybe a mommies' dinner, company for dinner on Saturday, company for brunch on Sunday.

And that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!