Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:19 a.m. - 2007-01-08
Ecoutez et repetez
Such a fun weekend, it was hard to get back into the groove, and it was exceedingly dark coming into work this morning. I hear the rain pounding on the roof - a low, white-noise woooosh.

Friday night we had dinner with the in-laws. Andy was delighted with his gifts from Dave's brother and SIL - two DVDs, a game-boy game and a St@rwars ship. FIL was his usually cheery self, and despite MIL telling us how delighted he was with the Christmas gift we had gotten him (a roll-up keyboard so he doesn't have to have MIL bring the keyboard up and down the stairs for him) he "just wanted to let us know" that the keyboard had to be flat, so he wouldn't be using it too much. I just smiled and walked away.

Saturday was like summer - at least 70 degrees. We ran errands and tried to spend as much time outside as we could. Andy and I had a discussion about him wanting to live with us for ever, he didn't really want to move away. I told him that I would love to have him stay with us forever, but it was pretty likely that some day, he would want to have his own home and family, and that his father and I would teach him what we knew about doing that since he said he was kind of scared that he didn't know about running a house.

So, I am ramping up the parenting and life lessons. Andy usually wants to help me around the house, but sometimes it is just easier to do things myself, and I have to stop that. I am doing a disservice to him. I remember being his age and thinking that I knew everything I needed to know about cooking, shopping and cleaning a house, that the only two other things I needed to know to be on my own was how to run the washing machine and how to make coffee and use the percolator. I don't want Andy to ever feel afraid because he doesn't know something. I want him to have the things he needs to know, and the confidence to figure out the things he doesn't yet know.

Saturday afternoon, Andy had a birthday party, so spouse and I checked out a new place that was called the backyard barbecue. They had decent burgers, but no ribs - just chicken. I ordered a bucket of wings for grown-ups night and they were okay. I'm not a big fan of the wings.

Saturday night the g rown-ups came - we had a night of bar food - nachos, chips and salsa; crab bites, chicken wings, buffalo chicken fingers, Chinese spare ribs (not popular); crudites with ranch dip, hummus and pita, stromboli, chips and onion dip and something else I can't remember.

For dessert instead of doing chocolate fountain, I just did chocolate fondue in the crock pot. We had pound cake, pretzels, bananas/plantains, strawberries and marshmallows. It was tasty and I used up alot of chocolate that we got f or the holidays.

Sunday, Sunday...what did we do? Oh yah, went out for breakfast, hit a dept store that had a sale on bikes and got Andy his Christmas bike from my parents (on sale!) and since the weather has been so decent, he is able to ride it before spring.

Andy, spouse and I spent the afternoon cleaning our bedrooms and assimilating all the stuff we got for Christmas. I got rid of two bags of clothes and realized I never have to buy pantyhose or knee-highs again. I don't know if they procreate in the back of the drawer, but I went through everything and found billions and billions of them. I'm set for awhile. Bras however, are another story. I have to find a decent bra.

We can now see the floor in Andy's room, though we can't see the back half of his closet. We'll work on that though. We have to get his room in shape in preparation for the arrival of his guinea pig. We found some at the rescue shelters, and will try and make visits this weekend.

Last night I made a tomato, sweet onion and arugula salad and grilled some sausages with good Italian bread. It was delicious, but I was so full when I went to sleep! I also did meal prep f or the week. This week's menu:

Monday - Thai chicken meatballs with rice and green beans

Tuesday - blue fish with broccoli and kale

Wednesday - tortilla soup

Thursday - Tofu stir fry over soba noodles

Friday - home-made pizza

I also made a meatloaf, some meat balls and a casserole for the freezer, so we're set for a bit.

Today is plow, plow, plow - two more projects from my boss. This week:

Cropping tonight with my neighbor
Boxing up some stuff for spouse to mail tomorrow
Cub Scouts at our house on Wednesday
Two visits on Saturday.

And that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!