Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:39 a.m. - 2007-01-02
Back at work
And I wish I was home in my jammies, sipping cocoa, organizing some pile of paper on my dining room table and feeling productive.

But I am here at work, with nary a soul around except the early arrivers (there are three of us...) and it is already official starting time. I'm at my desk in my suit with my hot beverage and bottle of water. My lunch (healthy pretty much) is stowed in the corporate fridge. But it is so damned quiet!

This week will be busyish. Spouse is home deChristmasing the house. It is one of the best gifts he gives me - taking down all the holiday decorations (sans a tree this year) and when I get home tonight, there will be nothing, or next-to-nothing left of the decorations.

Each year I say I will reorganize all the holiday stuff we have - candles, my little tree collection and more ornaments than anyone has a right to - as well as nifty containers for baked goods, lots of wrapping paper and gift bags, and the holiday china, linens and serving pieces. But each year I get neglectful and don't WANT to spend a day in the basement sorting it all out. There is a time for futzing with Christmas stuff, and March or July usually isn't it.

But we'll see.

We had a great party yesterday - I'm guessing around 60 or 70 people judging on the number of plastic forks we went through. Lots of friends and neighbors - one of the two people from work I invited, several people from previous jobs; my brother and his family, my aunt and uncle (who are not my aunt and uncle, but you knew that...), lot's of Spouse's co-workers, and friends we made through Andy. We've been doing this for about 18 years, and people expect that we're having it. When I indicated at the end of 2005 that I wasn't going to have it, we must have had 20 phone calls begging us to reconsider, and we did.

So today, I'm trying to get my groove on - focus on work, come home, pay the bills (I HATE that there is no mail today), and plow through this week. Tomorrow night is cub scouts, Thursday night is Mommies' night, Friday is a visit with the in-laws - the first in 2007 since they didn't come yesterday (it might rain...), and Saturday we are hosting the grown-ups. I'm glad to have some busy-ness. I get melancholier (is that a word?) in the first part of January. But I'm making my list of projects, so I'll keep busy and maybe get organized.

I LOVED having lists of things to buy and wrap and ship and bake for the holidays, and cards to send. I had purpose and lots of things to do. In early January, not so much. And I miss my family, as crazy as they make me. It's like all my magnetic fields get reset when we're together and then when we're not, the electricity that runs through us all is somewhat disrupted.

But that's enough moping for now. It is a new year - one that is full of hope and possibilities and opportunities to grow.

And tonight we have leftovers for dinner.

And that's what I've got for now.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!