Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:34 p.m. - 2006-12-21
It's beginning to look alot like zoloft
Last night after dinner, my father surprised us by taking us on a horse and carriage ride through the renovated streets of downtown W. p@lm Be@ch. I remember when it was the crime center of the area, and now it is full of quaint shops and homes and is very nice. There is a large fountain and it was decorated with a giant Christmas tree. Andy loved it. The horse ride was lovely, we saw lights, sang Christmas songs and really enjoyed the balmy weather after dinner.

My mother is still depressed and told me she is finally going to see someone next month. That was good news. Except then she said she would not consider any antidepressants because she already felt suicidal and she thought they would make her feel worse. I am taking one thing at a time. I had an irrational fear of anesthesia and refused to have any surgery done with general anesthesia, only locals and epidurals (I worked at a hospital then and knew many of the doctors so I could manage it.) Then one time I couldn't because I didn't know anyone and it worked out fine, so maybe that is just her way of dealing with it. So although I already know my mother was feeling extremely depressed, I now have her words and the term "suicide" attached. It was dramatic, but I don't think she was trying to be dramatic for drama's sake. It makes me sad though.

Andy is having a great time. We've been to the pool every day, went and did some shopping and met my mother's cousins (some of whom I already knew) so that was nice. We all had breakfast at a pancake house, then hit the mall to pick up last minute things. Tonight I hope to finish up the wrapping, althoug the fifth box of stuff we sent has not yet arrived.

Andy is feeling better. Tomorrow the crowds arrive - my brother and his girlfriend; my sister and her two kids; and our German friends. Most folks are staying at a motel for the duration.

And that's all I got for now - I hear the wrapping paper calling.

A hui hu marama.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!