Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:49 p.m. - 2006-11-20
And we also watched Atticus Finch
So tired all of a sudden. Friday night we went to a neighbor's going-away party for another neighbor who is moving all of a mile and a half away. The neighbor also recruited everyone to help them move the next day. "Do you have a truck?" he asked? "Got a few hours to help me move tomorrow?" Now I'm all for helping when I can, but the thing is this guy was given his new house - worth nearly $1 million. We are all in our 40s. Can he NOT spring for a moving company? Nope - it is easier to inconvenience the neighbors. Fortunately (and I know I am so mean) he did not make it over to ask us before we left (spouse and I were exhausted after Friday's sleeping schedule, so we left around 9, and he was just coming over to where we were sitting. I would have said no. Really.

Saturday I went to a craft fair with silent friend and picked up three or four Christmas presents for the nieces and nephews. Then we went and got Andy a new fish to replace the one that died last month. Then more laundry, a play date, church, and Andy was off to a birthday dinner and we went to our own birthday dinner - same place I took spouse the day before.

Came home, watched "Big" and got Andy. It was nice to sleep later on Sunday (7 a.m.) We were waiting for the leaf rakers who never showed up. So spouse and Andy started raking, recruited some of the neighbor boys, and I went out to deliver the cub scout wreaths we sold, get the wreaths to the other den famllies and get the groceries spouse needed to make my birthday dinner. We had lambchops, brussels sprouts roasted with garlic and butter, and delicata squash with maple syrup. Also a chocolate cake with butter cream frosting. (I hate butter cream though.)

Spouse got me a really cool purse made from dowry vests from the former Yugoslavia. (You have to see it...); a "Tower of Power" CD - I've no idea why; some giandua chocolate; and some earrings. Andy got me a tote bag to hold some of my scrapbook supplies.

My father actually remembered to call, which surprised me because my mother and sister are on a cruise, and they usually remind him. My sister called from the cruise, and my youngest brother and his girlfriend called. So that was nice. I know I'm too old for this, but I like when people remember my birthday.

Today, I got a pile of stuff done at work, transcribed the notes from the New Jersey meeting and got those out; wrote up a marketing plan and started on language for a new program offering. Go. Me.

But I am ready to keel over and fall asleep, and this is a busyish week. Tonight I have cub scouts. Tomorrow is karate, Wednesday is cooking. Thursday is cooking and travelling and Friday we hit the stores at 5 a.m. for the sales if there are any. We are also watching three cats, many fish and possibly a gerbil.


That's all I got for now.

A hui hu marama.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!