Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:12 a.m. - 2006-11-13
Pork, chili, tilapia, chicken soup and pasta
Such a nice and productive weekend. Friday Andy had a playdate scheduled with his friend from his after-school program, but his mother forgot, so we modified plans, the boy came over for a few hours, and then the mother took her kids to the movies. I would have thought she would have asked Andy, but she didn't.

Then we had another playdate scheduled with his school friend. They were planning on getting home around 3, and I invited them to come to dinner when they came to pick up their son. But 4 p.m. rolled by, then 4:30, so I called and they had just gotten back from their field trip, so they dropped their son off and then declined dinner. Their son stayed, and they picked him up around 7:45. Oh well, more pizza for us. Friday night we watched The Wizard of Oz; then fell asleep. Saturday I was supposed to have breakfast and then go to a craft fair with my friend, but she bailed on the craft fair, so we had a quick breakfast. (She had many soccer games for her kids.)

In the afternoon I took Andy shopping to get his father's birthday present and a gift for his neighborfriend. Came home, went to church and then went to silent friend's house for dinner. We had a great time and talked about alot of things solving all of the world's problems over dessert. Her girls were especially happy to see us - I even got hugs from the youngest two who are usually pretty shy.

Sunday we got to sleep in (well until 6:30) and I read the paper, made the grocery list and finished the laundry. Did the grocery shopping and got a ton of veggies for the week. My friend/brother's girlfriend had called on Friday and asked to stay over on Sunday night so she'd be closer to her Monday morning meeting, but at the last minute she bailed, so I had more dinner food than I needed. I made a pork roast with rosemary, garlic and lemon; oven roasted potatoes with garlic; brussels sprouts roasted with shallot and butter and leftover ice box cake from my friend. I also roasted some delicata squash for the week and made turkey chili for Wednesday. Tonight is home-made chicken soup with carrots, celery, onion and lime leaves. YUM! I'm feeling virtuous that most of the week's meals are planned except for spouse's birthday dinner on Friday.

Last night I got rid of three giant paper bags of catalogues and ordered a pile of stuff for Christmas.

I've got a busy work week - Wednesday I'm in Maine and Thursday I'm in the western part of the state visiting two of our schools. That means cramming in all of the reports/research/work I have to do into today and tomorrow.

Spouse balanced the checkbook and found a huge mistake he'd made in August, so we have abot 1,000 less than we thought we did. I really thought we were getting ahead a bit.

That's all I got for now.

A hui hu marama.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!