Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:25 a.m. - 2006-11-06
Weekend in review
Missed a Friday update and a happy dance! Had a nice Friday with my folks - we got up, went to breakfast, I did a conference call while we drove into the big city for a holiday craft fair. Spouse and I had gone for years, but stopped a few years ago because it became all duck decoys and things made out of beer cans with a few glass bead jewelry craftsmen. But this year we had high hopes and my parents wanted to go too, so we all schlepped in and had a great time.

There were really creative glass blowers, jewelry makers and one woman who made beautiful beads out of felted wool! I orderd one but wanted a longer cord for the necklace so she will send it to me at the end of the week. Also got some nice silver and dichroic glass bracelets for gifts; a frog pin for the MIL's birthday, and spouse bought me some earrings. It was a nice adventure. Drove home, hit the bit city exodus of traffic and made it home in about two hours to pick up Andy and go to dinner. We ate at one of our favorite "nice" restaurants in town - I wasn't crazy about my meal, but everyone else enjoyed theirs. I was probably still full from my breakfast!

Watched movies and played a game called "Scat" which is Andy's favorite, then went to bed. Saturday we ran some errands, got steaks to grill for dinner, went to church and watched movies and played cards again. Yesterday we took my parents to their friends where they stayed, and then the friends will take them to the airport so they can fly home this morning (Monday.) We then went to the in-laws for lunch. Spouse's brother and SIL had visited but his mother neglected to tell us, and of course they had to get home so didn't wait to see us. We ate lunch with the in-laws, did some chores for them, headed home, dropped off the fund-raising stuff to silent friend then came home and did laundry, finished the Sunday papers, got Andy ready for school and picked up some soup for dinner. I have a cold that is really knocking me down, so I heard my pillow calling around 9 last night.

Two peculiar things:

1. Silent friend seemed upset about something, but didn't indicate what was going on. I dropped off the stuff (we had called earlier to let her know we were going to do that) and then came home, but something is nagging at me.

2. When I went to tuck Andy in to bed last night, I noticed that there were missing pieces of his border - which is about six feet up from the floor. Little pieces just torn from the bottom. I asked him if he did that - that I wouldn't yell, but I needed to know what happened, and he finally admitted he peeled off one part, but not the other two. How did I not notice that before? What possesses him to do stuff like that? AAAAARGH!

It was a pretty nice visit with my parents, though my father still makes me bananas sometimes - he eats so much and I worry about his health, and he has these annoying tics - picking at himself, biting his nails, not always listening to the conversation. I don't know whether to attribute this to aging because these are things he has always done, it just seems amplified lately.

My mom seems okay, but they may be having money troubles and are going to refinance the house. I don't know enough about their finances, and should probably figure out what is going on when I get home at Christmas. I don't know how things are going with her and my father after their big blow-out, but they seemed okay.

Now I can start obsessing about work!

A hui hu marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!