Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:40 a.m. - 2006-11-02
Still back
Still working to get back in the groove. I sorted through emails and (very) few messages. The things I had asked get done at work were not done. Caught up with what I could and sat in on a couple of meetings. I am so happy to be back. Not.

Came home to a nice roasted chicken, home-made potato salad and broccoli courtesy of my mother. It was nice to have a hot meal that I didn't have to cook. Tonight we are having a Cuban dish - Pecadillo which is made with ground beef, tomatoes, spices, olives and sometimes raisins. We'll have it over rice.

We had a nice Halloween, not alot of kids - we had some leftover candy and pretzels. I believe in giving a choice of sweet or salty treats. We started off with my neighbor's Halloween party where all the kids and parents gather, and then usually the dads go out with the kids and the moms stay home and give out the candy. At least that is the way it is at our house.

There were lots of cute costumes, several baby pumpkins, but mostly comic book super heroes. You know, as opposed to the real kind of super heroes.

I think I may be catching a cold. I can feel it in the back of my throat and in my sinuses. I am working hard at not letting it come.

Here are my weekly insights:

1. It was very strange to be on a cruise mostly populated by New Englanders. Heck, they were ALL from Massachusetts. Usually when we go on a cruise, it is out of Ft. Lauderdale or Miami and there is a nice blend of people. I find us folks from Massachusetts to be pushier, less polite and louder than people from other parts of the country and I wouldn't have known that if I didn't see it on this cruise.

2. I like cheese. Sometimes better than dessert - whoda thunk? For dinner on the cruise you could order a cheese plate for dessert, and it was way better than the sugary fake cheesecakes and "fruit" tarts they had on the menu - lovely wedge of brie, slice of gorgonzola, hunk of gouda and a bit of Swiss with apricots and walnuts. Very tasty.

3. Given the choice of getting out there and doing something or napping, I have been choosing napping lately.

That's all I got.

A hui hu marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!