Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:41 a.m. - 2006-10-18
the wrong highlights
I worked a 12-hour day yesterday, chasing down info, dodging bullets, overcoming obstacles, sidestepping delicate issues and trying to get these huge projects done for my boss. I wonder how many calories I burned? Came home just in time to get out of my suit and into an old tee and jeans to get my hair colored and cut. It is okay, not great as I opted not to get highlights since it tends to frizz my already frizzulacious hair.

I hardly got to see spouse or Andy. That makes me sad. I'll likely have to work a long day again today, but tomorrow I get to have dinner with Andy while spouse gives his lecture to the trustees. The university pres is really taking notice of spouse and that makes him happy and more confident.

Andy is growing up too. I know I've written about how he had sort of a crush on a kid who is four years older - a hero worship kind of thing. This boy is in 8th grade and is the brother of one of his friends, and Andy lived for the times this kid noticed him. But the kid is just a 13-year-old, and doesn't want to be caught playing with someone his sister's age and so when he was around his older friends in the neighborhood would either ignore Andy or tease him a bit. It broke Andy's heart many times. It broke my heart many times to see how hurt Andy was by this behavior.

So this weekend, Andy decided that he had had enough and he told me that he realized that this boy (who is a good kid) really wasn't his best friend as he'd wanted, and that he wanted to just be with friends who treated him with respect and didn't tease him.

Can I just say "Standing Ovation Please?"

My little muffin man has learned a huge lesson and I am so proud of him. And he's survived it. That's my nine-and-a-half year old wonder boy.

So what else??? I am hurrier going and behinder getting, though feeling productive at work and really getting into the mix of things.

Haven't heard from my mother or sister who are somewhere in the Caribbean; but I check in on my father daily. He is lonely. I know this because his email says that he is "bouncing off walls" and feeling like a one-armed paper hanger. He said the house is too quiet. Yet when there are people around, he is always saying he can't wait for everyone to leave. Harumph.

My sister sent me a copy of her divorce decree. On the one hand, I was glad that the judge recognized how much she held it together and did what was best for her kids. He really slammed the ex in the court documents, which is ironic since the ex works extensively in the court system.

But it was sad too, because at the end of the document it lists the wedding date, and I remember being at that wedding and thinking how beautiful and happy my sister looked, and how in love the ex looked as he gazed at her. And it is done.

Back to work.

A hui hu marama.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!