Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:48 a.m. - 2006-10-10
Need more vegetables
Yesterday was such a gorgeous day - warm, sunny, cloudless and the kind of light that just shows off the changing leaves so magically.

I think the leaves aren't as bright this year. do I say that every year? It is like they can't make up their minds to change, though a few trees have displayed their glory and given up the chlorophyl.

Can't remember if I noted that my mother called after four rides on Space Mountain yesterday. She and my father took my nephew for his "exclusive" trip. My nephew chose Disn3yW0rld.

Yesterday, Andy and I went on a picnic on the town green and met Silent friend and her girls. I brought hummus and pita chips; Andy wanted a ham and turkey sandwich. We walked around the green and admired beautifully colored leaves. (If I was feeling pretentious, I would have said "coloured.")

Came home, and checked on the Cuban pork chops. I thought if I made a rub for the pork chops that they would be good in the crock pot. I had already chopped the peppers, garlic, onions and tomato on Sunday, and browned the chops; but it still ended up tasting a bit pot-roasty. I didn't use enough cumin I think, nor lime juice. I invited Andy's friend and his mother to dinner after Karate, so I served the chops and veggies with black beans and rice and some roasted green beans. There were enough leftovers for spouse's lunch today; and for the friend's mother to take a plate home for her lunch today.

Tonight is salmon and broccoli; and maybe some brussels sprouts. Working on those cruciferous vegetables.

Another busy week with some time on the road, especially tomorrow. Spouse is very glad that this term is coming to an end. He bit off alot with one particular course (which used to be team taught with a physicist) and now he is thinking of petitioning to drop the course from next year's list and redesigning it as something else more relevant to freshmen. Makes sense to me.

Not much else to report.

A hui hu marama.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!