Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:31 a.m. - 2006-10-09
Looking for lessons
Okay - let's try this again. Art was kind enough (as was Jane) to help talk me through this linking thing and apparently I did Jane's right but Art's incorrectly. See? I told you I can be a Luddite.

art

Did that work?

Had a nice, busy weekend. Didn't find pumpkins or apples. Friday was a crazy work day, but I got alot done. I feel a little more like it is my job now.

Saturday was all about laundry, Costco, dry-cleaning and lunch - our favorite Mexican place. Andy and I went to a 7 p.m. service so we could sleep late on Sunday. It was great not to have to get up, although I still seem to wake up around 5 or 5:30. Also, I'm having wicked leg cramps. I wonder if it is because I'm not walking as much. I'm doing vitamins and I think I am getting enough calcium, so I just don't know.

Yesterday I got into a cooking frenzy. Costco had a sale on ground turkey, so I made two kinds of meatloaves: A Florentine stuffed with spinach and provalone cheese; and an Asian with ginger, garlic, peppers a bit of carrot. I froze two and gave two to neighbors. (Is meatloaf an appropriate birthday gift?)

Also made the veggies and marinade for today's experiment with Cuban pork chops; roasted asparagas, zucchini and summer squash, and potatoes with bits of garlic and rosmary.

I made a Mexican Weight Watcher soup (we'll have that Wednesday); and some chicken stock which I threw in the freezer for chicken soup next week. I also roasted chicken for last night's dinner. So we're set for meals this weeks, and I have stuff in the freezer for when my folks come to watch Andy while we're away.

Today, Andy and I are home. My office is open, but I worked Friday and took today instead. Last week was a looooong week, but worth it in the long-run. Poor spouse has to go teach today.

Today's agenda:

Clean off the dining room table (we're having company for dinner); finish some freelance work; finish the laundry and work on my closet for a bit.

We're having a picnic on the town green for lunch, then Andy is going with his friend to watch a tennis lesson and then to KArate. The friend and his mother will join us for dinner, then it is back to the week, week, week.

Can I just say how moved I am by the fact that the Amish families affected by that horrible shooting have gone to the guneral of the man who shot their babies to embrace his wife and children and FORGIVE him? That is just so powerful an image to me.

Do you think our pastor spoke about that? Nope. For the third week in a row he told us we should be giving more in the collection basket. Third. Week. Straight.

A hui hu marama.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!