Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:20 a.m. - 2006-10-04
Bits and scraps
Interesting day yesterday. I drove to the other end of the state to see a training meeting about what it is that I am supposed to be marketing. It was interesting and was held in a newly refurbished elementary school. That has an armed security person at the door.

The kids were just getting out of school when the meeting was over and as I was leaving, three of them rushed up to me to tell me about how they went to a fair, and one of them showed me his giant blow-up spider man hammer that he won.

I loved the moment, but I don't get it. I didn't know these kids, and they certainlly didn't know me. Yet they wanted to hold my hand and tell me all about their day. I was such a treasure moment. There they were - these third and fourth grade boys in their public school uniforms all excited about seeing the giant pumpkin (well over 1,000 lbs.) at the fair.

But the thing is - I don't usually give off that approachable vibe to kids. Yes, I am a mom, and yes the kids in my neighborhood don't think I'm a witch or anything, but what was it?

And then when I went to pick up Andy at his after-school program, it happened again. Three little boys who don't know me (spouse usually does the picking up this year) came up and gave me hugs and wanted to hold my hand.

Isn't that the wierdest thing? I will enjoy it while I can. I wonder if it is a chemical thing? What did I eat that could be giving off some undetectable, unconscious smell???

And it was boys. No girls came up to me.

I am not used to being noticed. And no, this is not a poor, poor me thing. I have good friends; I'm usually a good person. I am good at what I do. I know that spouse loves me and thinks I'm sexy. It's just that...Have I already said that I had little to no experience in the dating/romance department? I never knew how to flirt. I always had guy friends who would tell me about their girlfriends and how awful they were being treated (the boys, not the girls of course...); and I did have a few boyfriends in middle school and high school. In college, I gave my heart to two boys who were totally not interested in romance, but we hung around and did everything together. But I do not think I ever had men's attentions. Or if I did, I was never aware of it.

I just didn't get the whole thing. I dated a bit after college, then moved back to New England and dated a bit then, and met spouse, but we were just friends for a few years until he changed his mind.

So I'm not grieving the whole loss of men's attention as I age because I never felt I ever had it to begin with. I am not unattractive, and I was pretty when I was younger. I just didn't ever bank on that. So as my friends are terrorized somewhat by aging, I'm not feeling that. I guess that is a good thing.

Back to real life...I made pasta last night using the leftover sauce I had from last week with some home-made meatballs and chicken/Italian sausage. It was good. Gotta get more veggies in though.

Tonight it is leftover city - I have a cub scout planning session for the pack.

Still no kidney stone movement. My mother was supposed to go to her knitting club last night but never got dressed. She's in another service club that is meeting at her house tonight, so she'll have to get dressed.

I finished the hardest freelance project revisions and sent them off. Today I finish the other which was nearly complete.

I. Hope. I. Am. Done. With. That.

Oh, and I got another job offer. Kinda late don't you think? They left a message on the phone, so I better call back.

And the mikvah? My friend had asked several months ago if I had suggestions for her parents' 50th anniversary - they didn't want "stuff" and were selling their home to move into a condo. I suggested a scrapbook, contacting friends and relatives to write a letter or send pictures. So she did that, and she called me from her parents' house where they were having a big party and told me her parents (who apparently have been hard to please, but that's her therapy issue...) were so happy, they cried, and said it was the best present they've ever gotten. So she called from their Rosh Hashana dinner and said that I started the new year with a Mikvah. So that's good.

And I'm so inspired about scrapbooking in general, that I might have to make %%Jane%% one since I know she likes scrapbooking so much.

I also have to learn to do a better job hyperlinking.

That's all I got.

A hui hu marama.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!