Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:23 a.m. - 2006-09-27
What the hell?
Ya just never know what will happen.

Had a fairly productive morning at work, and got a call from my mother about noontime. I could tell she was really upset, and she told me that my brother (who is coming to visit us in two days) was in the hospital. He is passing a kidney stone. She was really upset and kept talking about how he was okay, but in pain, but what if it had been something really more serious. (He has had heart issues.) So I called his girlfriend and by the time I reached them, he was home, drugged up and waiting to pass the stone. I know he's in for a rough few days. Two things struck me about the conversation:

1. When he got on the phone, he sounded awful, but he wanted to make sure we checked around for lobster specials when he was at our house.

2. His girlfriend confided that there were some other things that showed up on his tests - one he knew about - something about a fatty liver; and the other was enlarged lymph nodes and a high white count. She is going to the doctor with him when he gets home next week so we'll see what that's all about.

My mother was just a mess all day, and I kept checking in with her, which I think is what she wanted, and I asked her if Dad was at least helping her get through this, and she lost it again. I think he is going to a therapist today.

It is just so ironic that here we are about to celebrate their 50 years of marriage, and it is all mucked up.

And that's all I have to say about that. For now.

Had BLTs for dinner last night; cuddled with Andy who also had a good hour outside after dinner (covered with DEET to ward off West Nile and EEE mosquitos) and rode bikes and scooters with the neighbor kids. Glad he had a good time. I remember how fun it was to be outside after dark.

In one month I will be on the cruise with my spouse! WOOOO HOOOOOO!

Cub Scouts tonight.

Good night moon.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!