Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:55 a.m. - 2006-09-25
Happy Monday dance??
How did I miss writing Friday? How did I miss the Happy Friday Dance? Friday was fun and productive - got up, did a power shower, paid the bills, and then got a massage. Oh how I love the massage. This was the first time I ever had one from a man. He was pretty good, not the best masseuse I ever had, but he was sweet. I struggled with the whole "I've never been nearly naked with any guy but the spouse" thing, but it was okay after a few minutes.

Friday afternoon I got Andy and his friend (neighborfriend's daughter.) It was a nice afternoon and we hung out out side. Then I nuked dinner and we went to the drive-in in honor of the last day of Summer. We took our next door neighbor and her daugher and saw Cars. I thought it was cute and clever. Came home, showered off all the bug stuff we put on and went to sleep.

Saturday I got up early to meet my friend for breakfast. This is the friend who I've known since junior high. Our parents wanted us to be friends, so we would NOT be friends; and then finally in high school a teacher made us work together on a projectt and we became best friends. This is the friend who introduced me to spouse.

I love this woman for many reasons.

We met at 7:30, had breakfast, talked about kids, talked about the past, talked about paintings, talked about each other. It was fabulous and three hours flew by. I am so lucky to have this friend.

Came home, did a pile o'errands and laundry. Andy rode around on his bike with his friends. I have to get over being so worried for him that I keep him from doing things. Last week he was invited to his friend's sister's birthday party and the activity was driving two hours to take sailing lessons with 10 other kids in Newport Bay for three hours. I just had a bad feeling about it. I know Andy was invited to keep his friend company and I wasn't sure how much supervision there would be so I did not let him go. We had another commitment anyway so it worked out, but I did feel bad.

Saturday night Andy got his favorite friend/babysitter. He truly has a crush on this boy who is four years older than he is. The boy is usually very sweet to Andy, but occasionally he reverts to typical 13-year old and it hurts Andy, but it is a lesson he has to learn.

Sunday, Andy and I were up early - church, donut, grocery shopping; then Andy went with the neighbor and her daughter to a fair for the afternoon. They had a great time.

Made Thai meat balls last night (ground chicken, peppers, onions, garlic, ginger, sweet chilie paste, egg white and panko crumbs. I also made steamed broccoli with garlic and asparagas with hoisin sauce. When my neighbor and her daughter dropped Andy off, I invited them to dinner. They stayed so I made some rice to stretch it and everything worked out fine and we've no leftovers!

Tonight is the healthy meal (that's what Andy calls it) - salmon, broccoli and maybe steamed rice, though I think I'll lose the rice and make a tomato basil salad instead. I looked at Andy last night as he was doing his pre-shower naked run through the house and saw that he has put on a couple of pounds and I do not want him to be an overweight child as I was. You'd never look at him and think he was overweight, but I see it when he doesn't have much on.

This week is busy - lots of meetings; and my brother and his girlfriend (who is also my friend) are coming Thursday night to stay with us until Saturday when we bring them to the airport to go back to Florida. We're trying to go to this big New England exposition on Friday if we can swing it. Andy only has a half day (gets out at 11:30) so if I take him out of school he won't miss as much.

Tonight I'm cropping with my neighbor; tomorrow I've got a pile of meetings; Wednesday is an all day seminar and cub scouts; and Thursday I'm supposed to go into the big city for a meeting, but the train times don't work particularly well. We'll see.

So that's all I got.

A hui hu marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!