Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:05 a.m. - 2006-09-21
Weekly generation
Interesting day yesterday - attended a reallly interesting program in the morning; did a marketing plan at lunch, went to a special education meeting in the afternoon; did some work-housekeeping things in the afternoon. We had turkey, sweet potatoes and green beans last night for dinner.

I got lots o'requests for the broccoli recipe: Here's how we do it -cut the broccoli in to florets or bite sized pieces (some people don't like the stems, but I do.) Spray an oven/microwave safe dish with olive oil spray or just drizzle some olive oil in it. Put the broccoli pieces in. Add some chopped fresh garlic and sprinkle the broccoli with grated parmesan or romano cheese. Drizzle/spray a little more olive oil and either nuke it for 4-5 minutes partially covered; or bake for 30 minutes covered and 5 minutes uncovered.

Tonight we're doing baked ziti with a tomato/basil salad. YUM!

Last night Andy announced that it was the worst day of his life. So his drama queen mama sat him down and asked what was so terrible about the day - did someone get sick? Did someone die? Did someone he cared about feel upset? He said no that he was upset that he didn't get something we ordered from ebay and he had been waiting. So we had a talk about priorities and perspective - something I'm so good at on paper but not so good at in real life.

I want to know how to make him understand how lucky and fortunate he is. And we talked about his toy lust, that what excites him most is the next toy, not the ones he already has. So that is my parenting challenge.

My mother still sounds pretty flat. Maybe it is just post-vacation let-down.

I'm looking forward to the weekend. Tomorrow I collect on my Mother's day gift certificate for a massasge. Saturday morning I'm having breakfast with my friend; and Saturday night is grown-ups night. Andy is especially excited because his favorite "big boy" friend is babysitting. Should be interesting to see how that unfolds.

And tonight???? Two of my favorite shows are starting.

A hui hu marama.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!