Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:49 a.m. - 2006-08-21
No good deed...
What a nice weekend! Friday we hung out, did necessary things and had home-made pizza - it is our first in many months, somehow the schedule got off with vacations and Andy's travels and meeting the in-laws...So after pizza, we headed out for drive-in night with the cub scouts and had fun, except the movie was ridiculous - B@rnyard. What is with the writers? Why do the male characters have udders?

But the boys had fun, and spouse and I had a root-beer float - the first of the season, and the stars were out. After the movie, we came home, and I got us all packed for our Saturday overnight - Saturday during the day I was doing the scrapbook thang - and Saturday night, spoiuse and Andy met me at the hotel to take advantage of the pool. It was a nice little break. We had Mexican food at our favorite place and then came home with ice cream sundaes to eat in the room and since nothing was on teevee, we all read our respective H@rry P0tter books after a stint in the pool and hot tub.

Sunday morning we got up, packed out and went out to breakfast, and then took care of all the animals we are watching this week - two cats, eighteen fish and a dog - in three different households. Last night I made a turkey breast with sauteed spinach and a corn tomato salad, and since the oven was on already, I made an oven roasted ratatouille - fresh summer squash, zucchini, garlic, tomato, onion, thyme and basil roasted with olive oil; I also roasted some tomatoes for a sauce later this week.

This morning spouse went to take care of the dog and it's hind quarters weren't moving. The dog couldn't walk. Of course I diagnose a stroke, except this dog had a back injury when one of its owner's friends threw a basketball and bounced it off the dog's back just to see what would happen to the dog - so now the dog has a disk problem, and no one wanted to tell the kid's mother that the kid is an animal abuser.

I called the dog's owner who is about an hour and a half away on a short vacation, and whose mother is due back this afternoon to take over the dog-watching activities; and she wants us to take the dog to the vet. Um. No.

We spent more time with the dog, fed it, and it is walking a bit now, though trembling in the back. We asked my friend if there was any medicine left from the last bout of disk injury and there was, so we gave her one of the pills with some peanut butter and the dog seems better and is not in any pain.
This is the first time the dog has been left alone. Also, the dog is afraid of thunderstorms, and we had a doozie last night.

Am I making excuses? I feel terrible and I'm going through all kinds of guilt phases, but I am supposed to work today, and spouse has to work today, and
certainly if the dog was in more distress I would suck it up, but why can't they come home and deal with it? Why is my day less important than theirs? I just feel awful.

This is a difficult week for my family - my sister's court date is Wednesday, and we are praying that the judge will be fair, because in the state she lives in, the judge could even deny three years of back child support and make her sell the house to give him half - even though it was the husband who kept having the affairs and finally let her know so that she had to have an A1ds test and tests for all kinds of STDs. The judge could still deny my sister a decent custy schedule even though the children's father rarely spent time with them when he was there, and frequently finds reasons to not be around when it is his turn to have them. He merely dumps them at his mother's. Even when she was just home from the hospital with two broken arms and a broken leg. The judge could make my sister continue to pay her ex's debts even though she borrowed money from our family to put him through school. Because that's the law in her state.

So please say a prayer or give good thoughts, or light a candle that she gets someone who is fair.

That's all I got for now.

May the force be with us.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!