Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:59 a.m. - 2006-08-15
Am I done yet?
Missed updating yestiddy. I had a "one-hour" appointment at 9 and I didn't get out of there until noon. It was the second set of interviews with a job I thought I might take. But I have some doubts about it after the interviews. And they had a test: The first part was to translate some clinical information into a marketing piece - no problem - I did it three ways - first as a brochure, second as an e-brief and lastly as a press announcement. The second part was to talk about why I thought clear communications was important. Here is what I think:

Clear communication = information = knowledge = understanding. So many people will insist on using jargon and industry buzzwords that mean nothing to anyone else - AND they'll use a 50 cent word when a 5 cent word will do. (Go diagram THAT sentence.)

They made an offer yesterday afternoon.

1. I still haven't seen the job description.

2. They couldn't tell me about the benefits, but would fax some stuff (They've been aroundfor 50 years, it isn't a fly-by-night, it is just that the person doing the interviewing stuff has been there for like 15 years.)

3. They haven't decided to whom I would report.

They're supposed to fax me a bunch of stuff this morning so once I see that I can make a decision.

My concerns: Am I roping myself into a line of work that will restrict the kind of work I can look for for future jobs?

Will I like this job? They've rewritten the description to make it a more senior position.

And the salary is a bit less than I was making before.

What I wanted was a nice, clean decision - good salary, good bennies, clear lines about the job.

And do I want to consider the other job in the big city? The commute is icky - more than an hour in bad traffic. And what if there was another terrorist attack and I couldn't get home to Andy?

I am so ridiculous.

This weekend was lovely, weather was cool, crisp and sunny - almost like fall. We ran lots of errands and got most of Andy's school stuff taken care of (which means we bought lots of socks and underwear.) Got the in-law visit over on Friday.

Could I be any more whiney or annoying?

A hui hu marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!