Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:57 p.m. - 2006-08-03
Interview, interview jiggity jig, oh and fire
Might it be possible to get a job as a professional interviewer? I hope that is not too prideful of me to say, but I am getting good at this. I don't get too nervous, I've got my portfolio in order, and people seem to be blown away by the CD I made of my portfolio samples. I had my 8 a.m. interview. Spouse came with me since it was supposed to be a brief interview with the headmaster (I think the new term is head of school.) But it turned out that the headmaster wanted me to meet with the alumni/development team (9 people) and then the head of admissionsl, so poor spouse got stuck waiting. I told him to go take a drive and come back. I felt bad since we originally planned to have breakfast and then come home, and instead we ended up having lunch and coming home. At least we're now well-fed. So that was that.

After we came home, I had another phone interview for the Boston job. The interview was with the provost, and I did a bit of research on him so we'd have some other stuff to talk about. Can I just say that he wants me? (In the job sense.) How do I know this? He kept saying it. At the end of the hour-long conversation, he said that he hoped I'd be in my new office when he returns from vacation at the end of the month. So there's that too.

Also - I got the freelance contract which is good money wise, but now I must put my brain back to work. The contract is for two white papers about "solutions" for two vertical markets and is to be completed by the end of this month.

Andy and my parents are having a most fabulous time in the land of chocolate. My mother said she was a little disappointed in the hotel, but that they were having a great time. This morning they were up at 6:30 for the character breakfast (who knew there were chocolate characters??) and then they were off to the chocolate-themed amusement park in this blistering heat. Andy called at 6:45, and then again around noon to let me know they were done with the park and heading to the pool. I hope my folks won't be too tired and hot!!!

I have a very hard time accepting other people's hospitality, not because I don't appreciate the efforts, but because I feel incredibly guilty. I now have the privilege of feeling guilty for the graciousness given to my son. How warped is that? I know my parents are doing it because they choose to, and I can honestly say they won't make me pay for it emotionally. That is my own doing. So I don't know why this is extra hard and guilt-inducing for me.

Last night, Andy and I called back and forth (free cell phone minutes) to discuss the intracacies of "America's got talent." That is something that he and my mother did last week, so we got a three-way conversation going between PA and MA. It was great! We will continue this activity tonight when they announce another finalist. My life is so full.

Okay - just got a call from a job wanting some references. That is a hugely good thing. Then we'll talk salary. Please, oh please, oh please be the light at the end of the tunnel.

Oh, and also (because it is all about me) my neighbor/friend's parents' condo building was hit by lightening last night. Their house is is okay, but the house next door and the unit on the other side of them is destroyed. Talk about dodging a bullet. YIPES! I count my blessings again.

May the force be with you.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!