Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:33 p.m. - 2006-07-14
Latin food and leopard prints
Back from our anniversary gala. My folks watched Andy - made him his favorite dinner, went out and got him a slab o'ribs (he just discovered the joys of bbq ribs) and let him take a bath in their huge tub for an hour and a half. He had a great time! My parents were a bit exhausted - not only did they run, run, run with us all through DisneyWorld, but they also lost a friend while they were away and attended the funeral yesterday morning. Everyone is taking a giant nap as I write this.

Last night, spouse and I put on grown-up clothes and checked into the hotel. It was nice, but the service was a little rough around the edges. Later, we went to dinner and had an amazing feast - Spouse had baby octopus ceviche - don't get all squidgy about it, it was very tasty; I had caesar salad which was okay. The paella was for two and took a while, so the chef kept bring us little tidbits which were surprises each time. First it was a cup of saffron and mussel soup - one of the ten best things I have ever eaten; then it was little pattypat squash blossoms stuffed with shrimp and a bit of scallop. Then the meal came out - full of shrimp, mussels, bits of crab, octopus, scallops and amazing saffron rice. Really delicious meal. For dessert we had homemade dulce de leche ice cream and a lemongrass creme brulee - truly amazing. Then we came home and crashed - watched the decision show of Am3rica's got talent - and fell asleep. Can't get much more married than that! This morning the hotel failed to give us our wake-up call, so we rushed through breakfast, then picked up my parents and Andy and headed to a N0rdstrom's sale - spouse got a ton of stuff which is going in the birthday/christmas gift box, so I am done with him for awhile! My mother bought me this funky pink leopard print jacket - something I would hever have had the guts to choose myself, but it is the coolest piece of clothing I have ever owned. I LOVE IT AND WOULD WEAR IT EVERY DAY IF I COULD GET AWAY WITH IT!!! And I am not a pink leopard print type girl - usually navy or black suits with funky blouses for work.

We went to lunch at my favorite Cuban restaurant, then hit a craft store where I bought my nieces sewing baskets and accessories for Christmas (See? I'm about a third done for the holidays already...not too anal...) and then the big naps. Spouse and Andy are at the pool.

I am not on the interview trail - two more calls for interviews came in today. I'll be busy for the next two weeks.

Tonight my brother and his girlfriend (my friend - I introduced them) are coming in for the weekend, so we'll get to see them. We're also going to see one of Andy's Florida friends in a play tonight. I do not plan on having any more meals for at least two more days.

Good night moon.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!