Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:33 a.m. - 2006-07-13
15 years ago today
Fifteen years ago today, spouse and I got married. It was an overcast day. We were living in a tiny third floor apartment in a house built in 1870 a few steps from the beach and we called it our sea nest. My parents stayed with us, and spouse spent the night before the wedding at a hotel with his parents near the church. We took a limo to the church (several towns away.) We chose that church/chapel because it was on the campus of the great global dominator university where spouse had finished his Ph.D and was teaching. We expected that the chaplin there would be more tolerant than my own church. He was. He was a lovely man. On the way to the church in the limo I watched Pee Wee's playhouse on the tiny tv in the back. I figured a morning wedding with a brunch would be less expensive (even then I was all about saving some money.) I had called in alot of favors from people I had done business with - a caterer I had worked with on about a dozen events; the limo driver I had used for several VIP things; and we chose a house of historical significance/architectural design for spouse, since that is his field of expertise. It had been the summer home of a wealthy Boston family, though now the city in which it is located is a bit scruffy but charming. It was a small, fabulous wedding. We had about 80 people. Neither of us have alot of relatives (I have no first cousins because my parents are both only children.) We had family, college friends, a very few work friends and long-time friends.

For the reception, we served cold raspberry soup, a nice salad; chicken, shrimp and mushroom crepes (to accommodate the vegetarians); really lovely little rolls and danish; champagne and a lemon wedding cake that people still talk about. Our friend who had introduced us made a cake topper of a bride and groom fish (complete with top hat on the groom as spouse had worn) because we have a thing about cute fish. My brother's mother-in-law did the flowers for us, including my bouquet which was small and put in a silver tussie-mussie (which spouse had given me months earlier.) We had a table cloth where all the guests signed their names in fabric pens, and when we're home, we take the cloth out and use it on our anniversary. We also had a hand-made paper guestbook. We had a small swing band (also a band I had worked with) for the reception. After the reception which lasted from noon until about 4, we went back to our hotel (we were flying out on the honeymoon on Monday) changed into matching Hawaiian shirts, and then went to another party at my brother's house nearby. It was lovely. We fell asleep around 8. The next day we had brunch again with all the out of town friends, and that night took our family out to dinner. Early on Monday, we flew out for our honeymoon (a cruise to the Bahamas) It was such a whirlwind but so much fun to have that many people who loved you and were happy for you all in one room.

My sister and my sisters-in-law were my bridesmaids. My sister wore a really pretty floral print dress; and I asked the SILs to chose a solid color dress with one of those colors. I never did the taffeta poofy thing.

Spouse's father sang at the wedding service - the song was "I got me flowers" which is by Vaugh-Williams. It meant alot to spouse.

Okay - that's all I can remember, except being very happy and the tiniest bit melancholy about leaving my family (because I can never be completely happy, even then dagnabbit!) - I'm not sure if it was the "cosmic" leaving my family, or the actually leaving because they were staying in Massachusetts for a few more days and doing fun things.

This year, spouse and I got up and gave each other our gifts - we each got the other a Sw@tch - a tradition we've had for many years - mine is clear with large polkadots. His is yellow with bright stripes. We're also going to a hotel tonight, and my parents will watch Andy. We'll meet tomorrow to go to the giant N0rdstrom's sale, and then to lunch.

We're back from 0rlando and had a great time. The interview went really well, and I'm going in for another in-person interview next Thursday. That makes four interviews next week. I'm tired just thinking about it.

Good night moon!

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!