Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:14 a.m. - 2006-06-12
Anniversary complete
We survived the anniversary. There was some complaining about the weather. There was some complaining about the service. There was some complaining about the food. I thought it was lovely. I wangled us a private room at the museum, so we had a lovely private dining room. The food was tasty. BIL found the museum using spouse's directions and didn't get lost once. They got there early and went to the galleries without us. Oh. Well.

There was complaining about taking a photo of everyone together.

There was complaining about not knowing that we were coming back to the house for cake and champagne. There had been discussion and agreement the week before, just not remembering. There was complaining about the rain, the drive back, the existence of dishes that would have to be washed because of the cake (I forgot to bring plates and napkins...) and finally a complaint that things would have to be moved on the shelf to place the gifts.

The gift: an $800 sculpture by a famous New York artist. It is made of chicken wire and bamboo skewers painted red. I. Am. Not. Kidding. We are halfsies into this (unbeknownst to me earlier.) Oh well. It's only money. Right? Right?

So we kept our party faces on and smiled and congratulated and hugged. We came home and spouse fell asleep at 7:30. He was so relieved on the way home that it was done and that he had survived.

Then yesterday, when he made his weekly call to them, they kept thanking us. I guess they are able to express their gratitude long distance. That's fine. I was surprised they thanked us at all. I'm glad for spouse. He (like me) still needs parental approval even though we are in our 40s. Whoda thunk?

My walking partner has not shown up. Three-bean chili with chorico and soy crumbles is in the crock pot. Did I spell that right? It is my day to cook for the meal swap. In addition to the chili - cornbread with fresh corn and home-made cole slaw.

Last night I grilled Italian sausages and made a fresh tomato, basil and onion salad - very yummy.

I think maybe I might need to make up a happy Monday dance. It will just maybe be a slow dance.

A hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!