Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:36 a.m. - 2006-06-01
And on into the summer
My sister had her preliminary hearing yesterday. The judge recognized them but did not recuse himself. He did however postpone their mid-month court date to next month and ordered them back to mediation. I hope it works and that they can settle everything quickly, but I doubt it.

I feel like I am doing first aid this week - for my friend who lost her husband early this year; for my friend who has financial difficulties; for my mother who is in so much pain about my sister. I want to do more, but I am only able to give bactine and bandaids.

Got sucked into "Wh@t ever h@ppened to B@by J@ne" last night" which was a hoot. I am struck by how much B3tte D@vis reminds me of my MIL - not just the crazy caricature in this movie, but the actress herself - the way she moved, the shape of her face. I can't tell if my MIL was pretty when she was young. She doesn't believe in graven images, and so most of the photos of her have been lost or destroyed. I remember seeing one of her on her wedding day, the day after she graduated from college - a black and white photo of her standing with a short dress - looks like it may have been green - with a small bouquet, hat with tiny veil and her feet pigeon toed. She looks small and young. She and FIL met in high school before he was stricken with polio, so they've been together a long, long time.

Anyway.

Andy's social life is heating up. He has a playdate and dinner tonight; and has been invited for a playdate and dinner tomorrow night, which means I'll miss him, but spouse and I will have dinner on our own.

Saturday we are hosting some of the grown-ups of grown-up night. I have no idea what to make.

Other things:

1. Andy is beginning to make his own breakfast
2. Haven't seen the turkeys in a few days
3. It is hot and humid
4. Where the hell did May go?
5. It is officially poposicle season.

A hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!