Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:15 a.m. - 2006-05-18
Shellfish for everyone
Another glorious spring day - sunny, warm and blossoming. I walked my walk today. My friend is back from "Vegas Baybeeee" and so we are resuming our routine of 2.5 miles. I have company coming tonight for dinner, so I'm doing two chickens on the rotisserie, rice pilaf, broccoli and a caesar salad with eggless dressing because I am politically correct. My mother is making a chocolate pecan pie for dessert.

Last night we made baked stuffed shrimp from my mother's cool cookbook from the smallest state in the union. We also made stuffed quahogs (large clams) with bread crumbs, ritz cracker crumbs, peppers, onions, garlic (though not too much) and chorizo sausage. We'll either have those as an appetizer tonight or save them for tomorrow's lunch.

The baked stuffed shrimp we ate last night, though there are still a flock of them in the fridge. I could only eat one after my huge lunch. I thought not eating dinner last night would let me sleep better. I'm waking up feeling like I'm either drowning or the walls are closing in on me. I've been dreaming that I'm trapped in something and then I wake up gasping for breath. I'm sure it is the apnea and the allergies. But anyway, I remember my last dream was that I was back at my old university job (two jobs ago) and at a meeting because they were thinking of hiring me back, and a woman who used to be my assistant in the 80s was there and the assistant to my husband's old boss. She looked at the veins in my hands and told me that I would never be able to fall asleep in hotels. Or else.

Last night we all piled into the car around 8 and drove to the state line to buy Powerb@ll tix - $114 million. Maybe we won!

Tomorrow everyone leaves - my parents, or other company. And we sort of settle back into our routine. I'm a little disappointed, because we have no vacation plans again. We have to wait to see how my sister's divorce trial works out. Please say prayers for her and her children. If you do that sort of thing.

Tomorrow is also Andy's field trip to the State House! I'm so excited for him!

And that is all. A hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!