Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:16 a.m. - 2006-05-08
Restart the week
Oh yah, it's Monday. What has transpired? Lovely Saturday - firstcommunion for my niece, we spent the day at my brother's house, and then Andy had a sleepover with his cousins. He was returned to us by my parents who were headed down to visit their friends in Rh0de Isl@nd. He was a pale, tired boy who hadn't gotten much sleep, and who had eaten only cheese bread the day before. He wanted to go out to play with his neighbor/friends, and then we had to get ready to go to the cub scout fishing derby and cross over. Andy was frustrated because he had never practiced with the rod and reel he had, despite us urging him to do so, so while the other boys were catching little pumpkin seeds, Andy was untangling fishing line. Then he cut his finger with his pocket knife. Second time he used the knife, second time he cut his finger. There were tears. I was on that tightrope line of telling him it was okay to feel frustrated and sad, but to try and keep things in perspective, ESPECIALLY since he was obviously overtired. I'm not sure how I did on the mommy front.

Then we came home and went to sleep around 9 p.m. EVERYONE. I am a bit frustrated with Andy at the moment. He is becoming very much an ONLY CHILD - and I have to work with him to get him to

1. Realize how good he has it
2. Realize that he is the center of my universe, but not the center of THE universe.
3. He has to start taking more responsibility for his own stuff.

Not too big a project ya think?

My parents are staying with their friends for two days, then coming up to stay with us. Finally. Which means spouse and I are cleaning up the guest room.

Thursday we will head back to the C@pe of C0d through Sunday. My mother - who said that whatever we planned was fine with her for Mother's Day (I had made reservations at this great seafood restaurant on the way home) - is now lobbying for my brother and his family to meet us somewhere for dinner. That means more driving. I'm trying to push for a decision by mid-week so we can get a dinner reservation somewhere.

Still no word on jobs. I'm feeling a bit stuck.

Tonight we're having salmon, a black bean and corn salad with cilantro; and a cold lemon broccoli salad.

Time to be re-employed.

A hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!