Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:27 a.m. - 2006-04-19
Why we do this?
Another day of lists - Andy was home with me and I asked him to help me make the list and cross things off as we completed the errands. His reward: A 99 cent h@ppy meal. Came home, cleaned, bill-paid, laundered, etc. Found out that one job I applied for is already filled.

Did I already write that my old job at the first university is open again? The new VP let everyone he did not hire go. I know it could be difficult, but what do I have to lose? We'll see.

Did some phone networking. Got my unemployment check.

I am noticing this wave through dland where many people that I read are either uninspired because they have no conflict at the moment, and therefore feel they have boring entries. Its true - the train wreck entries are much more fascinating. Angst is more readable. I recognize that a mundane entry is not always an interesting entry, and most of mine have been mundane, but it made me think about why I write here.

UB in his semi-farewell entry said he wrote for us to entertain. That is what works for him.

I write mine to purge and catalogue. I catch myself sometimes, wanting to entertain my one or two readers, but I try to put in here what I would put in a paper journal. Except for one subject. I try not to censor myself, and maybe that isn't a good thing. But this is what works for me.

That's all I'm going to think about today.

This morning I took the cub scouts bowling (and know I have an earworm of that song "Take the skinheads bowling...take them bowling...") and this afternoon we have to see the in-laws. I just know my MIL is itching to pick a fight. She has been mean on the phone lately.

Yesterday, I made blue fish with a mustard sauce (2T whole grain mustard, 1T regular brown mustard, 2T low-fat mayo). Also corn and sauteed spinach with garlic and nutmeg. Tonight I do not have to cook.

Tomorrow I do not have to cook - spouse is giving a lecture on the art mistakes in the D@vinci code. He's given it before, but I get to go to this one. OOOOH controversey!

Then silent friend and her family is coming for dinner on Friday. We're still doing homemade pizza.

A hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!