Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:28 p.m. - 2006-04-17
Easter recap
Wasn't it a great weekend? We were very efficient, got all our entertaining/cleaning/cooking stuff accomplished.

Friday night was pinewood derby night - Andy didn't do as well as he has in the past, but his best friend won! I was really happy for him. Andy was disappointed for himself. He doesn't have many obstacles to overcome, and I am once again reminded about my parenting responsibilities. It is not always to make the road smooth for him, but to give him what he needs to learn to navigate its twists, turns and construction detours.

Saturday we baked another birthday cake (chocolate buttermilk devil's food with fluffy chocolate icing) and two flan cakes ("a p@mpered chef thing) - one for Easter and one for next Friday when Silent Friend and family come for dinner for pizza.

Saturday afternoon we had Andy's birthday with his school friends - four boys - very funny. Wish I could have recorded the conversations - everything from bugs to star wars - no malice, no off color remarks, very sweet. We went to the movies - The Wild - great animation, not a spectacular story though - and then came back for lightsaber battle, pizza and cake. No one wanted to leave. Saturday night spouse and I got sucked into "The Ten Commandments" and stuffed easter baskets. I went over my friends to help stuff plastic eggs for her annual egg hunt - we had more than 400 eggs! which was a good thing since we had 14 kids this year. As I promised, I woke up Andy at a minute after midnight so he could have chocolate since he gave it up for lent - but he was too sleepy.

Sunday morning -we got up - did church, found our baskets (lots of chocolate!!!)and I finished the rest of the prep for the egg hunt (I was bringing 4 lbs of cooked bacon which disappeared in 7 minutes) and the rest of Easter dinner, which turned out to be spectacular! My brother marinated the lamb leg which he grilled; then we had grilled eggplant and onion salad - so delicious and summery; asparagas with butter and lemon, and oven roasted potatoes with the rest of the lamb marinade. Very yummy.

Sunday night after the company left, we hung out, read the papers and got ready for the week - oh wait - I don't have to go to work, spouse doesn't have to go to work and Andy doesn't have to go to school.

It's a good time!

Good night moon.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!