Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:27 a.m. - 2006-03-16
Unemployed
Guess where I am not. I am not at work. At 4 p.m. yesterday, we were called into the conference room and told that we would not be on the payroll after 5 p.m. The university would not carry us for the next few days. We have not heard one way or the other whether we won the contract. After two extensions and three months past the original deadline in December, those to whom we pay our taxes have not completed their work, so we (those who were written into this particular contract/grant) are officially unemployed. I was shocked to see how many people were actually surprised by this development. Where have you people been for the past month??? There was much sadness and sobbing amongst them, though I was surprisingly calm. I still feel okay, probably because I saw this trainwreck coming. What pissed me off were the directors who came in and had the ovaries to tell me how hard this was on them. They are keeping their jobs...blah.blah.blah.

So today I've applied for three jobs, one of which I'm actually excited about; continue my battle to get a state to own my unemployment; and I've done three loads of wash. I have to do my cub scout meeting at the police station tonight, and pack for our treck to Long Island tomorrow. I must also find something green to wear.

And that's it. Just keep swimming.

a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!