Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:45 a.m. - 2006-03-10
Still not allowed

This may be my last Friday working for a while. If I'm happy and positive about it, I would rejoice, but the panic started to set in last night so I'm worried about finances again. We still haven't heard about whether we got the contract, and if we do, then I'll be working three days a week until June 30, then down to 2 days a week after that unless things change. We should have heard by now, so many staffers are saying that we didn't get it and that we will just lay off a bunch of people on Wednesday. Except for the people who made the decisions about who would stay or go. They are untouched. But I'm not bitter.

I will not mourn this job as I have others where I felt I made a difference, or as Ree$e Withersp00n said of her role "to just matter." I am sad to lose the paycheck. There is no one I will especially miss, except for one or two women. I think we'll likely stay in touch on some level.

This weekend is full of D&O - inlaws tomorrow. We haven't seen them for more than a month (their choice.) I suspect they will have things for us to fix or install or replace. That's fine. Sunday we are going to a museum exhibit of David Hockney with colleagues of spouse. Next weekend we are going to NY to meet my parents who are going to my father's cousin's son's wedding. Diagram that if you dare. We're not invited to the wedding, which is fine, we'll just visit. The weekend after that is my annual scrapbooking retreat, or as I now see it, the deadline that will make me find all my scrapbook stuff and get it organized.

I've asked my mother to come and visit me next month - very low-key, just hang out. When they come it is usually around a holiday or some family event like a first communion so things tend to be crazy. So I thought with me not working it would be a nice chance to reconnect and be mellow. She is busy however with a show she is playing piano for, and she has to go see my niece and nephew for Grandparents' day at their school. They live two hours away from her, so it will involved a multiple-day visit. It did not occur to me that she would say no to me. Her rationale is that they'll be coming in mid-May for my niece's first communion, and that they might be here in June to rent a cottage on the shore. I didn't tell her that I would probably not be so desperate in June, nor remind her that she'll be at my brother's in May. I've constructed busy-ness in March. April is when it will be hard for me and when I wanted her help.

But it is Friday isn't it? That means Happy Friday Dance.

a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!