Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:53 a.m. - 2006-03-01
Whittlin' down
Still feeling sickly, but the interview went very well. It is a very small shop, two senior people, one middling, one newbie. They were impressed with my resume and portfolio. I was there for two hours and met with all four staffmembers. There is a good fit between the work that they do and the work that I do. They want references in addition to my last boss who gave them my name. Things aremovingfast. I have some things to think about including: do I want to only work part time? Is this a viable place to work? Do I get sick/vaca time? Who knows...

On this front, my favorite coworker has taken another job at the university. I'm thrilled for her. It is a bit of a pay cut, but certainly much more stable. I am noting to myself, that the two people I hired have moved on to much better positions in the university. Woo hoo.

So yesterday I had my full warpaint. I didn't look too bad, and it was a boost for my confidence. They even had a little sign that said "Welcome Pattypat." I really liked that ridiculously small gesture.

Last night we did the whittling thing with the cub scouts. Can you guess which cub scout almost had to get a stitch? Ding, ding, ding - yup - the one I made. He cut his right index finger at the tip, and it bled quite a bit, but it stopped after a few minutes. Poor little muffin. We were carving bars of ivory soap. He survived, I survived. The woodshop smelled so good - sawdust and soap. I felt like singing the Star Spangled Banner all night. We're really lucky because one of the cub's father is an excellent woodworker and he LOVES to have the boys in his shop.

On today's agenda - Still. More. Cub. Scout. Stuff. AAAUGH! Get the thank you notes and references out, and keep looking for jahbs.

a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!