Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:59 a.m. - 2006-02-23
Thank you Curt Gowdy
I keep meaning to write that Curt Gowdy was my first boss. I worked at a radio station he owned in FloraDora right out of college. (He owned several stations on the east coast.) I was a reporter and did hourly news broadcasts on air (taping broadcasts when I was actually out on a story.) The station was the largest in the state - FM was "beautiful music" and completely automated - I was never live on that station, just taped 2 minute newscasts and weather. AM was country and western. I was ALWAYS live, and the newscasts back then were like 7 minutes. I worked the evening shift - 3 p.m. to midnight, but I had great DJs who were very sweet and fatherly to me. I think. Because I never realized if anyone was hitting on me back then.

Anyway, Curt came in every few weeks, especially if we were "doing book" which was during the rating periods; and he was also very nice. He actually used to call me "sport" because I was the only female on-air person, and also because I was the youngest staff member there. Though sometimes I suspect it was because he couldn't remember everyone's name. It was a sweet, busy time, and I was grateful for the job at a time when reporters were still respected and believed to be ethical.

So today, I am still in the soup and hating myself for being there. Spouse is pissing me off. I don't expect anyone to take care of me at the moment, though I would just love for someone to come over, tell me to take a nap, and make cookies and dinner for me - but I would appreciate it if those around me would not MAKE THINGS WORSE.

My two relationship rules:

1. Be honest/keep your promises
2. OWN IT

The forecast: Tonight it will be dark.

a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!