Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:36 a.m. - 2006-02-14
Valentines and history
I have been up since 4 a.m. and am ready to go back to sleep for the day. My friend came up last week for her friend's mother's funeral, and got stranded by the storm and was having difficulty dealing with her family for a few more days, so she came to our house yesterday afternoon for a visit and I promised to take her to the airport for her 6:30 a.m. flight, so I have been at work for an hour already and it is only 7:30.

Yesterday Andy and his friend hung out most of the day, playing star wars games and swinging light sabers. Then they went out sledding a bit and came back in to play more games in which they conquer the universe.

I made a roasted chicken with lemon and garlic, pea pods with soy, ginger, garlic and sesame oil; sauteed spinach and rice. My friend requested a baked potato and I had one left so that worked out well. Tonight I have cub scouts so spouse is making mini pizzas with gorgonzola, red onion, diced tomatoes and rosemary. It is a weight watchers recipe. I have lost six pounds of holiday weight. Stress is good for that.

So, the veep shot his friend and they waited to tell about it. Do people learn nothing from history? Just own it for heaven sake and it will soon be forgotton. Try to hide from it and it sits around and festers and becomes bigger. Maybe it is because I'm in the line of work that I'm in but geez - rip the bandaid off and be done with it.

Spouse is meeting me for lunch for valentine's day. It will be a good break in the day and I enjoy spending some grown up time with him. I hope I don't pick a fight.

Last night we put together Andy's Paul Revere costume. He looked pretty cool and he practiced his report two more times. I even found an old, small revere bowl and polished it up, so now he has a prop. He is a very literal boy still and did not sway from the specific instructions the teacher gave. We also packed his valentines, snow pants, boots, extra socks and gloves, and a valentine treat for snack. Life is good.

Tonight I am baking cookies with the cub scouts. But at least I'll get to send most of them home after they've eaten all that sugar.

I have no other deep insights today. Work this morning will be all about fulfilling orders. Read into that whatever you want.

a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!