Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:28 a.m. - 2006-01-26
Thursday observations
On the way home from work each day I think about Spouse and me. We have some issues to work on. I think of what I might say to him, how we might talk about it (and it isn't that I am afraid to talk with him about things) but then I get home and sucked into the vortex of dinner, clean-up, homework, laundry, etc. We have not had that talk, and then it is time to go to sleep.

Without sounding like a complete flake, I have been reading a new diary, and it reminded me about parts of myself that I have allowed to hibernate. I am not saying that Spouse has squelched me. To the contrary, he is generally supportive of anything I want to do. These are things I either neglected to nurture, or subconsciously allowed to wither in myself. I own it. This diary has just reminded me of those parts. I'm not sure how I am going to move forward.

Okay - back to my usual ramblings. Last night was a festival o'leftovers: Mushroom barley soup with a drizzle of truffle oil, and a salad with a bit of under-ripe mango, lettuce, tomato, gorgonzola and oil and vinegar. I love a good cleanout. Of the refrigerator. Spouse and Andy finished up the ziti from the night before.

Tonight's menu: I cut up the top round roast (so underwhelming when I cooked it on Sunday) and threw it in the crockpot with cumin, chilli, epazote (Mexical oregano), fresh cilantro, onions, garlic, a bit of grated carrot (don't know why, seems like a good idea) and a small can of tomato sauce. That will be the basis for carnitas. I have fresh tortillas, lettuce, tomatoes, cheese and sour cream for tonight. I think Andy's friend and his mom are coming for dinner as well. Then we'll be out of leftovers.

I am taking a vacation day tomorrow with spouse, and we've rented a cargo van to go to IKEA and get shelves for Andy's room and maybe for the den. I feel guilty for using a vaca day, but I don't see any other way to do it at the moment.

a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!