Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:38 a.m. - 2006-01-23
Monday and Snow

Monday and snow. Took me nearly two hours to get into work, yet Andy's school was not cancelled. Spouse's is never cancelled, it took him nearly two and a half hours to get in.

Generally a pleasant weekend. Saturday was D&O - saw the in-laws, did some errands, went to church, then had a grown-ups night with the neighbors. Mexican food - not bad, I would have liked a bit more heat. Sunday - newspapersw, laundry, grocery shopping, and Andy's friend for the morning. Then they went bowling for an hour or so. I made a BIG SUNDAY DINNER because they had a top sirloin roast on sale. Meh - not especially tender - I roasted it with garlic, thyme and a bit of olive oil. I did oven roasted potatoes, which were more floury than waxy, but tasty nonetheless; and roasted asparagas. I also made mushroom barley soup, which is what we'll have for dinner tonight.

My mother is sick again - some type of respiratory infection; my father is unable to put any weight on his right knee. They are getting old. But sometimes I think they just give in. Maybe we have to save our fighting for bigger illnesses?

On the way home from work Friday, I saw a bright red VW beetle, and its license plate was "TOMATO" I laughed all the way home.

Andy is pushing his 8-year-old envelope-talking back a bit, forgetting his usual chores. I know it is his job. It is mine to push back. I wish it were spouse's too.

This weekend's teevee viewing:

Dancing with the stars. HOW COME the rapper guy is still there?

Bleak House - had a hard time keeping up, but it is visually interesting too.

Missed Miss America. I have a friend who used to iron through Miss America. It was one of the few times she ever ironed. Wonder if she had the spray starch out.

a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!