Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:57 a.m. - 2006-01-06
Thankful Friday
Spouse and I met for lunch yesterday - he drove all the way down to the city where I work, got dressed up in his new sportcoat and tie we got him for Christmas, and enjoyed being spiffy. Then he headed off for a museum exhibition at one of the universities, and I went back to work.

We were both too full to eat dinner last night, though I had a potato chip festival during "The OFfice."

We're looking forward to a quietish weekend. I had thought about inviting some friends over for dinner, but changed my mind.

I probably would have invited Sarah and her family, but she is still not speaking to me. Her husband and daughters came to our open house on New Year's Day, and he gave us Christmas gifts. She stayed home. I thought that was an interesting development, but I don't want to be a part of anyone's unhappiness or marital discord. I'm just not sure what to do next. I've made four overtures since I asked her to please call the next time she was going to be so late. That was in mid-November.

I spoke with my Ohio friend whose husband has suddenly taken a turn for the worse. We've known he had liver cancer for some time, but she fought to get him on the transplant list. He also has heart issues, and at the end of December, he went from running his business to not recognizing her in just 24 hours. She is getting him into a hospice. The clinic told them he is off the transplant list and that he has 2-6 months to live. She is frantic.

I heard from my college friend who believes her marriage is disintegrating over financial and child-rearing issues. We haven't seen each other for nearly two years, so I think she is rallying her friends around her while she works through this.

I am counting my blessings and staying happy with the fact that today is Friday and home-made pizza night and pajama party night with Andy and spouse. I am wearing the beautiful sweater my mother made for me for Christmas - it is all breens, blues, purples and teals and it makes me feel especially warm.

Happy, thankful Friday dance.

a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!