Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:11 a.m. - 2006-01-04
Working through it
My parents leave today, and I'm trying to keep the blues and depression at bay. This is always a tough time. The expended Christmas trees are already beginning to line the side of the road waiting for the mulchers.

This morning at work is full of meetings, then I go home in the afternoon and bring my parents to the airport. It has been a wonderful Christmas and New Year, and despite the complaining I probably did about all the work, I LOVE the build up to the holidays. I feel such a sense of purpose - so many lists to be made and tasks to be crossed off. So many joyful things to do - get and give gifts for those I love, bake things for them, decorate our house, make sure they have enough blankets in the guest room...

Spouse got all of the holiday decorations down Monday before I got home from work, and next week I'll go down to the basement and attempt to reorganize everything.

What I've learned about myself in the last month, or what I may have learned before but could not articulate, is that I tend to focus on the LOSS of happy feelings rather than on the happy feelings themselves, so that I feel depressed after the holidays because it isn't quite as fun anymore. I know that I'll get over it, and I'm praying that this year won't be as bad as previous years' blues. I have so much to be thankful for.

And I have a treat to look forward to later this week, thanks to Nancy!

a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!