Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:03 a.m. - 2006-01-02
Happy 2006!

Did I make a New Year's resolution to not feel sorry for myself? Because I'm SO ABOUT TO BREAK IT ON JANUARY 2. I'm sitting at work, hardly anyone here, because the rest o'the planet has today off. In fact, I thought Andy had school today, but he does not, so he's at home, sleeping in and enjoying his aunt, uncle, grandparents and father. I didn't find out until last night that he doesn't have school today.

Well, it is good to get a bit organized, and tomorrow is supposed to be an ice storm, and I'm working from home if that is the case. Only two more days of my parents staying with us, and that makes me sad. It has been a nice visit.

Had a great New Year's Eve - finished up all of the party cooking and set up, then headed into Boston, checked into the hotel, walked around many of the First Night activities and headed to the Common where the ice sculptures are. Met an old friend who does the largest of the Common's sculptures and he remembered me from 25 years ago! It was great to see him.

The kids loved being out. It was snowing in the most picturesque way, and we watched the Grand Procession parade, went for hot chocolate and cider, and then watched the 7 p.m. fireworks. My brothers, their wives/significant others and childrern were with us, so we were an entourage of 12. My Massachusettts brother and his family headed home; my Florida brother, his girlfriend and her sister headed out to dinner, and my parents, spouse, Andy and I went back to the hotel to get a light dinner. It was good to get in from the cold. Then we played "Catch Phrase", watched some teevee, and waited for the ball to drop. I fell asleep, but my FL brother and his "wimmin" knocked on the door to get the champagne we brought and go to the 22nd floor of the hotel to watch the fireworks in the harbor, so we woke up in time to see Dick Clark and the Times Square ball. We were probably back to sleep at 12:04.

Got home around 12:30 and put the hot food into the oven to cook for the party (ham, my Nana's macaroni and cheese, crab bites.) We must have had around 80 people this year! It was a good way to start the new Year. Our old Connecticut Neighbors drove down from New Hampshire to see my folks and they had a great visit.

Surprisingly, we have not very much food left - just annoying things like half eaten cakes, peculiar candies from gift baskets, and tiny boxes of crackers from cheese trays brought as gifts. I wonder what I'll make for dinner!!!

My aunt and uncle stayed overnight, so we still have a little party going on at home. I am not looking forward to everyone leaving. It will be lonely next weekend (for me. I think spouse is looking forward to the quiet.)

I had 5 chocolate dipped pretzels for breakfast today.

I'm working on a "to do" list for this month.
a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!