Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:07 p.m. - 2005-12-26
After Christmas \"Wrap\" up
It is an especially Mondayish Monday. We had a wonderful Christmas - Andy was beside himself. Of course he got too much stuff, but almost started crying when he opened his R2D2 robot that he had been asking for for three months. He also loved his video camera, which broke on the way home, and because I was a careful shopper and bought it when it was on sale September 3, 2005, T@rget would not allow me to return it because it was beyond the 90 day sales receipt limit. It did not matter that the camera was missing a piece. It did not matter that I had the receipt. It did not matter that I nearly wept and was polite with the return ladies. They would do nothing. Bah. Humbug.

But I will deal with it. Somehow.

Thank heavens for my mother who helped me wrap and get stuff ready. I would never have gotten throug the wrapping and the cooking. We had everything wrapped by Christmas eve, eve, so I was able to spend Christmas eve making some cookies (not as cool as Chaos's great recipes though.)

My parents, Andy, spouse and I had our feast of seven fishes for Christmas eve after we came back from church. We had lobster bisque, cesar salad with anchovies (it isn't cesar if it doesn't have anchovies - my motto of 2005); shrimp cocktail, crab cakes, shrimp balls (both pre-made from Wh0le foods - overpriced but tasty); pickled herring with sour cream, clams posilippo (baked with tomatoes, bread crumbs, garlic and cheese) and squid rings. I think that is 8 not 7. We didn't have alot of anything, just little bites. It was great.

Christmas eve we watched "A Christmas Story" and my Dad loved it. Finished stuffing the stockings and put a few more gifts under the tree and got to sleep by midnight. Andy was up at 6 a.m., but came to cuddle for an hour, then he and my father had a deal that if he had to get up, he would wake my Dad and they would make the cinnamon rolls and cocoa for everyone. We had to hold out until 8 so my brother and his girlfriend could get here. They were prompt.

We all opened gifts. Here's what I got:

From spouse - a blouse (note the rhyme!); a digital camera and printer - YAY!!!; a cool cooking book on culinary disasters; a lovely purple velvet jacket; my favorite chocolate - giandua; and a silver pin.

From my folks - a red jacket, a mango cutter, and a gift certificate from Nordstroms, and some cool tool things. My mother knitted me a beautiful pair of socks and a gorgeous sweater in purples, teals and greens - it is stunning. We have to pick out buttons this week. I can't wait to wear it.

From Andy - a memory card for the camera.

From my brother and his girlfriend - a leather box to hold watches and bracelets, a crystal pitcher and a beautiful picture of the two of them.

From my other brother - a pot rack and installation, a scrapbook and a bracelet my SIL made.

From my sister - Truffle oil. She knows me too well!

It is an embarassment of riches. I am truly spoiled.

Today, my friend (brother's girlfriend) and I hit a few sales, tried to return and replace the video camera and we all had lunch at our favorite MExican restaurant. Tonight I must excavate my livingroom.

For Christmas dinner, my brother made rib roast and baked stuffed shrimp for 17 of us! It was delicious. I made green beans with pecans, butter and tarragon and broccoli with cheesy bread crumbs. After dinner we played a game with all the kids called "Catch Phrase." It was a blast.

It was a nice and overly generous Christmas, and of course I must cultivate the guilt at getting so many fabulous and extravagant presents.

Tonight I am making my brother linguini with clam sauce (white) and we're going to watch our new DVD of "March of the Penguins."

a hui hou marama

Merry Christmas to all!

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!