Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:49 p.m. - 2005-12-01
Brought to you by the number three
This morning, there seemed to be three of everything:

Three cement mixers in a row moving down the highway (wasn't that a Jim Croce song?) Three bread trucks, including one with a bible verse reference - John 3:16; Three v-necklaces of geese flying overhead and three hard hats.

Can I just say (maybe I'll make that the name of my next diary) that spouse and I were amazingly productive yestiddy?

1. Got a trunkload of stuff over to goodwill - clothes, working VCRs, redundant pots and pans.
2. Applied for (and were praised for our stellar credit report) a home equity loan - better do it now while I still have a job!!!
3. Had a nice cup o'coffee in the local coffee house.
4. Cleaned (AGAIN) the diningroom table and sorted out all the catalogues, bills, flyers, homework, cubscout stuff and scrapbooking crap and dealt with it instead of rearranging it into neater piles.
5. Took down the fall scarecrow and windsock and put up the Christmas windsock and holiday wreath.
6. Got all the materials for next week's cub scout meeting (we're making cookies and ornaments.)
7. Got two more gifts for Andy that were on sale; a gift for my niece (Spin-art!!); a gift for spouse, a gift for my aunt and uncle; and gift cards for my nephew. ALSO scored a nice red down throw for Andy's bed, and two rugby shirts and a pair of snow pants that were on sale.
8. Paid all the bills
9. Made a yummy, healthy dinner on the new stove- swordfish, broccoli, corn
10. Did another cub scout project with Andy - posters of animals
11. Got my mother's and MIL's gifts
12. Got my car's oil changed.
13. Threw out four boxes of paper and recycling
14. Finished my part of the work proposal

Go me.

On the social dysfunction front - I figured I'm going to be the one to have to get this friendship with the friend I finally let know that I hated being kept waiting. (yes class, let's diagram that sentence shall we?) We were invited to a cocktail party at their house on Saturday, so I called to see if there was anything we could bring (usually we are asked to bring something - hors d'oeuvres, wine, ice, etc.) and as I suspected, she was screening her calls, so I left a voice mail and didn't hear from her for a day. This morning I got an email saying she had issues with the way I behaved, that she had a busy life and more kids than I did, and she was insulted that I would think that I thought she wasn't nice enough to call me after 10 years of friendship. I made a mental note (because I am hateful that way) that there was no apology, nor concern for how I felt, just that she was hurt. I never raised my voice, I merely asked her to put my number in her cell and told her that it hurt my feelings because it made me feel that I wasn't important enough to her for her to call and tell me she was late.
So I started to write out a point by point rebuttal email, but you know what? I really like being friends with her husband (we were friends first because we worked together for a few years) and I love her daughters, so I can either be right (or righteous) or I can continue the friendship and move on. I deleted the email. I just have to find that narrow, narrow path between not putting up with selfish behavior, and keeping the friendship. Yah.

Walkin' in our winter underpants.

a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!