Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:29 a.m. - 2005-11-01
Didja miss me at all?
On the way to work today, I saw a disorganized necklace of geese fly by, they wrestled for position, and after a few minutes eventually slid into their V formation. I am searching for a lesson in all of that beyond the fact that it was just so interesting to watch.

Had a fun weekend on the Cape. Friday night, we headed out once spouse came home from work. Checked in, had a nice dinner and crashed. The time share units were nice, tiny pseudo kitchen (no stove, just a bar sink, mini fridge, micro wave and coffee maker.) Small table, sectional sofa, television. Upstairs was a queen sized bed and another bathroom in a loft over the living area. Andy loved it. Saturday morning was cold, raw and rainy, but we headed out and did some exploring, a bit of holiday shopping, and had a late lunch. Came home, watched "Nightmare before Christmas" and waited for the neighborfriends to arrive. And it snowed. On October 29 on Cape Cod, it snowed an inch. It was gone by Sunday morning. Sunday was beautiful - sunny, dry, slight breeze, warm...we walked the beach with all the kids, played a round of miniature golf, had lunch (my last Mcd meal EVER) and then went to the indoor pool for a few hours. Neighborfriend's kids are fun and rambunctious, but don't do well at restaurants, so we went to a familiar one - Fridays (ick...) but had a great time. Yesterday morning spouse, Andy and I headed for home, then babysat for three neighborkids in the afternoon and got ready for Halloween.

Andy wore his swat team costume and had a great time. I'm always surprised at how few kids there are each year. Last year I had enough for 80 kids, but had less than 40. This year I learned my lesson, but expected more kids anyway because the weather was so spectacular. We had maybe 40, so I am left with a handful of spiderman gummies and all of the candy that Andy doesn't like. I'll bring that into work.

Which brings me to my next subject. We were supposed to get letters explaining our employment status by yesterday. I had taken a vacation day, so I wasn't in, nor did I check my email because I just wasn't ready to face my own termination nor that of my co-workers. So I had worked myself into quite a state by this morning. I let my OCD side come out a bit and tried (a la George Costanza) to do everything the opposite of the way I usually do. I did not back into my parking space, I did not wear perfume, I did not call and check voice mail before I left for work...and lo, there were no letters. Now we're told we'll get letters at the end of this week or maybe next. It is not like the letters will necessarily predict our fate - there are still many things that have to happen: 1. The Feds have to approve the budget/funding for this program and since all discretionary spending is up for grabs so that we can pay for Katrina, that may not happen by November 18. 2. We have to win the contract. 3. My supervisors have to recognize that my work has value to the organization. We'll see. It is difficult for my staff who look to me for information. I should have information, since that is my job, but I don't. There is none to be had.

a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!