Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:19 a.m. - 2005-10-19
What's that smell???

Can I just say that EVERYONE WANTS A PIECE OF ME THIS MORNING! Although if they do take a chunk o'me it will be garlic scented, as I had a little garlic festival with dinner last night. I made bluefish and baked it with a lemon, garlic, tarragon marinade; then sauteed spinach with nutmeg and about five cloves of garlic sliced thick; and then last week in the dead vegetable zone at the grocery store they had three containers of chanterel mushrooms for 79 cents. I had never cooked with chanterels as they are usually NOT FOUND AT GROCERY STORES, and prohibitively expensive, but I sauteed them with a little butter, a splash of white wine, and another five garlic cloves. I served that over the rice and bluefish, and our house smells like Gilroy California (home to America's largest garlic festival.)

After dinner, I had to run out to get some things for a project I'm doing at work, and I called my neighborfriend to see if she wanted a quick jaunt, but she couldn't run away, and I was disappointed. I miss having a friend who will do things on the spur of the moment. We're all too busy with other commitments.

Andy is hitting that stage already where he is getting sloppy and careless with his homework, so we had a little spell last night and went over all of his stuff again. Hope it helps. He is so smart, and he isn't reallly stretching his brain at the moment. I wish we could inspire his school and his teacher to do more with him. They are happy that he is well-behaved. As we were wrapping the homework thing up, I noticed a nasty, icky infected blister in the center of Andy's right palm - turns out he stabbed himself with a broken pencil by mistake and it is infected. I asked why he didn't tell his teacher or the nurse, and he thought he was doing the right thing by running water on it from the drinking fountain. We took care of it, but it still looked icky this morning. I'll have to watch it to make sure there isn't any more infection.

Talked to my Dad last night who is getting the hurricane shutters ready again; my mother is away on another cruise so he'll have to get help putting them up.

Gotta go put out work fires.

a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!