Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:11 a.m. - 2005-10-06
Living in a land o'lists
Too tired to eat or cook dinner last night, so the bluefish will have to wait until tonight. I hope it isn't too smelly with disappointment.

Here is a line I've always wanted to use in a writing project: "Trustworthy horizon of disappointment."

My 30th high school reunion is coming up on my birthday (11/19.) I am not as excited about it as I was for the 25th, but I am taking spouse this time, and we're making a weekend of it to show Andy my home-town. I haven't lived there in 29 years. My father was transferred from CT to FL in 1976, and though I remained up north to finish college, I hardly ever went back to that town, so it is kind of frozen in time for me. In fact, even though I only live an hour and a half away now, I think the last time I went back was when I went to the reunion five years ago. Oh - are you doing the math? Let me help -- I'm 47. I'll be 48 in November.

We've had fog every morning this week, so each day I drive into work with a little smudge of sun to my left. Eventually, it burns off and becomes sunny and a bit muggy by lunchtime. I don't remember an October like this for quite some time. Very little leaf changing happening. I am wondering if everything will just dry up and never change color.

Today we received word that we'll receive word at the end of the month as to whether we'll be rehired at the end of this grant (If we get the grant) and what will happen if we don't get the grant. I've known this for a long time, but somehow seeing the email made it sharper for me.

Cub scout planning meeting last night. We've come up with an idea for our den's contribution to our halloween fun house pack meeting - swamp fishing. I'll have each boy cut out and decorate paper fish. Each fish will have a fortune on it and a wire ring. Then the boys can fish in the "swamp" (small swimming pool with dry ice and leaves) and catch their fortune fish.

It was the best I could come up with that would:

1. Allow each boy to participate and be creative
2. Keep to our budget of $10
3. Be doable for 6 eight-year-olds
4. Not be a toxic zone of clean-up in my house

Here is what I have to do:

1. Make 125 paper fish
2. Make fishing poles out of sticks and paper clips
3. Find dry ice
4. Find a costume for Andy
5. Find a costume for me

Here is what you could do:

1. Find some leaves that are changing and memorize the colors.

2. Make friends with a pumpkin. No wait, that'll make it too hard to turn it into a jack-o-lantern. I always have issues with pumpkins and knives. So only befriend those you will not carve.

3. Remind yourself that tomorrow is the weekend!

a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!