Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:27 a.m. - 2005-08-31
A day to count blessings
We have officially survived the first day of school and declared it "wicked awesome." Our new third grade teacher is "the best." But we are still afraid of having a fire drill today, which is again unlikely because it is raining again today.

Last night Andy's school folder was stuffed with information and forms which we spent an hour filling out. I volunteered for a few projects, and caught myself hoping I was making a good impression on his teacher. I am middle-aged, and still worried that I make a good impression. Hmmmm.

We are praying for those in Louisiana and Alabama, but are doing something more concrete than that. Andy wants to sell some of his toys and make a donation. I love this boy. When he is feeling happy or insecure or rambunctious, he'll say "Say the thing Momma, say the thing." And I'll know exactly what he wants, and I say "How did we get so lucky? How did God know that of all the babies in the world waiting to be born that day, we get to have you?" And then I hug him, and he laughs and laughs and cuddles.

I hope that those who were affected by Katrina will get back to that place with their families. And today I will count my own blessings.

a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!